
Best for riding without a membership
Schwinn IC4
FitScore for Spin Bike
- ResistanceMagnetic, 100 levels
- Max user weight330 lb
- Warranty10 year frame, 3 year pa…
- Product weight112 lb
Choose it if you want to ride with your own tablet and apps, a 330-lb rating, an included heart-rate strap and a longer warranty.
Overall winner for most spin bike buyers: Schwinn IC4, by 14.2 points (65.8 against 51.6) with the weights of our best spin bike guide. It leads on durability, comfort, affordability and practicality.
Schwinn IC4 wins 3 rounds
Peloton Cross Training Bike wins 0 rounds- =2 ties
Product photos from Amazon. FitScore weights are explained below.
Peloton Bike vs Schwinn IC4: the Peloton Cross Training Bike has a 21.5 in swivel screen and needs a paid membership for its classes, while the IC4 has no screen, works with your own tablet, rates riders to 330 lb and carries a 10-year frame warranty. Our FitScore favors the IC4 for most spin bike buyers.
Head-to-Head Specs
Here are the two side by side, from the Amazon US listings, completed from each maker’s page for the same model only where a listing is silent. A check mark shows the stronger spec on each line. Before you order either model, search the CPSC recall database: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists exercise bike recalls and the fix offered. The CDC recommends that adults get at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic activity a week, which steady cycling counts toward. Harvard Health Publishing lists about 252 calories in 30 minutes of moderate stationary cycling for a 155 lb person.
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Type | Spin (indoor cycling) | Spin (indoor cycling) |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 100 levels | Magnetic, 100 levels |
| Flywheel | Not stated | Not stated |
| Max user weight | 330 lb✓ | 297 lb |
| Size (length × width) | 54.6 × 30.7 in | 54 × 23 in |
| Product weight | 112 lb✓ | Not stated |
| Rider fit | Riders 5’1″-6’4″ | Riders 4’11”-6’5″ |
| Seat and handlebar | 4-way seat, 4-way handlebar | Not stated |
| Console and programs | Basic LCD console (programs not stated) | 21.5 in screen |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Heart rate | Strap or armband included | Not stated |
| Membership | Optional (extra classes) | Required for the console |
| Storage and moving | No transport wheels listed, 112 lb | No transport wheels listed |
| Warranty | 10 year frame, 3 year parts✓ | 5 year frame, 1 year parts |
| Specs won | 3 of 14 | 0 of 14 |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
FitScore Duel
Both scores use the weights of our best spin bike guide (how we score). Performance (40%) counts most, then durability (25%), comfort (15%), affordability (10%) and practicality and features (5% each). The Schwinn IC4 ranks #4 in that guide. The Peloton Cross Training Bike sits outside that guide’s top 5.
Key Differences
- Max user weight: 330 lb on the Schwinn IC4; 297 lb on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Size (length × width): 54.6 × 30.7 in on the Schwinn IC4; 54 × 23 in on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Product weight: 112 lb on the Schwinn IC4; not stated on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Rider fit: Riders 5’1″-6’4″ on the Schwinn IC4; Riders 4’11”-6’5″ on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Seat and handlebar: 4-way seat, 4-way handlebar on the Schwinn IC4; not stated on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Console and programs: Basic LCD console (programs not stated) on the Schwinn IC4; 21.5 in screen on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Heart rate: Strap or armband included on the Schwinn IC4; not stated on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
- Membership: Optional (extra classes) on the Schwinn IC4; Required for the console on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.

Round 1 of 5
Peloton Bike vs Schwinn IC4: Resistance and Flywheel
Tie. Neither model has a clear edge here.
Here is how the two compare on the work the machine does.
Resistance: both list magnetic, 100 levels.
Performance score in this comparison: Schwinn IC4 60, Peloton Cross Training Bike 60.
Round 2 of 5
Capacity, Frame and Warranty
Schwinn IC4 wins this round
Capacity and warranty are the stated measures of build.
Max user weight: 330 lb on the Schwinn IC4, 297 lb on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
Warranty: 10 year frame, 3 year parts on the Schwinn IC4, 5 year frame, 1 year parts on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
Durability score in this comparison: Schwinn IC4 89.8, Peloton Cross Training Bike 54.96.
Round 3 of 5
Fit and Riding Position
Schwinn IC4 wins this round
Type: both list spin (indoor cycling).
Rider fit: Riders 5’1″-6’4″ on the Schwinn IC4, Riders 4’11”-6’5″ on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
Seat and handlebar: 4-way seat, 4-way handlebar on the Schwinn IC4; the Peloton Cross Training Bike listing does not state it.
Comfort score in this comparison: Schwinn IC4 76, Peloton Cross Training Bike 56.
Round 4 of 5
Size, Weight and Moving
Schwinn IC4 wins this round
Size (length × width): 54.6 × 30.7 in on the Schwinn IC4, 54 × 23 in on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
Product weight: 112 lb on the Schwinn IC4; the Peloton Cross Training Bike listing does not state it.
Storage and moving: No transport wheels listed, 112 lb on the Schwinn IC4, No transport wheels listed on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
Practicality score in this comparison: Schwinn IC4 28, Peloton Cross Training Bike 25.
Round 5 of 5
Console, Apps and Extras
Tie. Neither model has a clear edge here.
Console and programs: Basic LCD console (programs not stated) on the Schwinn IC4, 21.5 in screen on the Peloton Cross Training Bike.
Bluetooth and apps: both list bluetooth.
Heart rate: Strap or armband included on the Schwinn IC4; the Peloton Cross Training Bike listing does not state it.
Features score in this comparison: Schwinn IC4 40, Peloton Cross Training Bike 40.
Who Should Buy Each
Riders who already use apps
Pick the Schwinn IC4 if you ride with Zwift, Peloton’s app or another service on a tablet, or want a higher rider limit and a longer frame warranty.
Riders who want studio classes on the bike
Pick the Peloton Cross Training Bike if a built-in 21.5 in swivel screen and live instructor classes are why you are buying, and the membership fits your budget.
Consider Instead

Schwinn IC3
If neither fits, look at the Schwinn IC3: it offers a higher performance and affordability score than the Schwinn IC4. It ranks #1 in our best spin bike guide.
Final Verdict
Overall winner for most spin bike buyers: Schwinn IC4. Pick the Peloton for a built-in screen and live classes; pick the IC4 if you would rather use your own tablet, skip the required membership and get a higher rider limit and a longer warranty.
Schwinn IC4 vs Peloton Cross Training Bike FAQ
With the weights of our best spin bike guide, the Schwinn IC4 scores higher: 65.8 against 51.6. It leads on durability, comfort, affordability and practicality.
For riders who bring their own tablet, yes: with our spin bike weights it scores higher, helped by its 330-lb rating, 10-year frame warranty and included heart-rate strap. It has no built-in screen.
Peloton states its All-Access Membership is required for Peloton content on its bikes, sold separately. The Schwinn IC4 works without a paid plan.
The listings give about 54 x 23 in for the Peloton and 54.6 x 30.7 in for the IC4, so the IC4 is wider.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.






