Concept 2 Rower Review (2026): Concept2 RowErg With PM5 Monitor

Our recommendations are based on product specs and use-case fit. Affiliate links included. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Read our disclosure

Concept 2 Rower Review: illustration of woman at the catch on an air rower
Our Concept2 RowErg review covers specs, FitScore, owner feedback and the best alternatives. (Illustration, not an actual product photo.)

This Concept 2 rower review covers the Concept2 RowErg, the reference air rower of the category. It pairs a fan flywheel with a damper, a Performance Monitor 5 (PM5) and a 500-lb user rating. It is 96 inches long, weighs 57.3 lb and separates into two pieces for storage.

The RowErg ranks #1 in four of our guides: best air rowing machine, best rowing machine, best rowing machine for heavy people and best rowing machine without subscription. It is #2 for tall people. Below: how it rows, what the PM5 measures, who it fits, where its size and noise count against it, and which rower to pick instead.

Concept2 RowErg Review: The Short Answer

Our verdict

FitScore 87.7/100

Concept2 RowErg

Concept2 RowErg rowing machine for home use

Buy it if you want accurate rowing data, room to grow and a frame rated for 500 lb. Skip it if you need a short or near-silent rower, or if you want a built-in screen with classes.

  • Air resistance with a damper, PM5 with split and watts
  • 500-lb rating, 5-year frame warranty
  • Separates in two, rolls on caster wheels

See alternatives · Full specs

Best Usage

  • Interval and split-based training
  • Steady endurance rows
  • Tracking progress over months

Best For

  • Data-driven rowers
  • Heavy and tall users
  • Training without a membership

Not For

  • Short rooms (96 in long)
  • Quiet-at-all-costs homes
  • Built-in screen classes

Key Specs

  • Resistance: Air, damper
  • Max user weight: 500 lb
  • Seat height: 14 in
  • Size in use: 96 × 24 in
  • Weight: 57.3 lb

Pros

  • PM5 shows split, watts, stroke rate and heart rate
  • 500-lb rating and 5-year frame warranty
  • Works with 40+ apps, no subscription

Cons

  • 96 inches long in use
  • Air fan is louder than magnetic
  • No built-in screen

Concept2 RowErg Specs at a Glance

Concept2 RowErg specifications and what they mean
SpecConcept2 RowErgWhat it means for you
ResistanceAirA fan flywheel: the harder you pull, the more air it moves and the heavier the stroke.
Resistance levelsNo preset levels: the pull gets heavier the harder you rowThe damper changes how the stroke feels; your effort sets the load.
Max user weight500 lbTied with the GMWD and Merach R60N in our air guide; only the Aviron, at 507 lb, is higher.
Fit (rail / inseam / height)54-in rail; inseam up to 38 inManufacturer figures: the Amazon listing gives neither, so they come from the maker’s spec page.
Length × width (in use)96 × 24 inLong: the listing recommends a 9 × 4 ft space for use.
StorageSeparates in twoThe rail and front unit come apart, and caster wheels move each piece.
Product weight57.3 lbLight for a full-size rower, and each half is lighter still.
Monitor and metricsTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, watts, heart rateThe PM5 shows pace, watts or calories, plus heart rate with a compatible monitor.
Bluetooth and appsBluetooth; ErgData and 40+ compatible appsBluetooth and ANT+ link the PM5 to apps and heart rate monitors, per the listing.
SubscriptionNone requiredEvery feature on the machine works without a paid plan.
Warranty5 years frame, 2 years partsLonger than most frame terms in our rower data.

Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.

Values come from the Concept2 RowErg Amazon US listing (checked November 2026), except the 54-inch rail and the 38-inch maximum inseam, which are manufacturer figures because the listing does not state them. The listing does not give stored dimensions or a noise figure, so they are left out.

Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the Concept2 RowErg and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists rowing machine recalls and the fix offered.

The CDC physical activity guidelines for adults recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, and steady rowing sessions count toward it. In a study of 107 adults aged 20 to 74, rowing on an ergometer used more energy than cycling at the same power output.

Concept2 RowErg FitScore

FitScore rates each rowing machine on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). The RowErg ranks best in our best air rowing machine guide, where it is #1 with the same score, so this review uses that guide’s weights. Performance counts most (35%), then durability (25%) and comfort (15%), then practicality and features (10% each) and affordability (5%). Air rowers are bought for hard training, so the resistance system and the data on the monitor come first.

FitScore for Air Rowers

Same weighting as our best air rowing machine guide.
87.7/100
Performance
100
Durability
93
Comfort
92
Practicality
62
Features
70
Affordability
48
How this FitScore was calculated

This FitScore combines 6 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.

Key scoring driver: The most heavily weighted factor is performance (35%).
Category
Score
Weight
Performance
100
35%
Durability
93
25%
Comfort
92
15%
Practicality
62
10%
Features
70
10%
Affordability
48
5%
  • Performance (100): air resistance with a damper and a PM5 that shows 500 m split, watts, stroke rate and heart rate.
  • Durability (93): a 500-lb rating, a 5-year frame warranty, 2 years on parts and an aluminum and steel frame.
  • Comfort (92): a 54-inch rail and a 38-inch maximum inseam (manufacturer figures) plus a smooth stroke.
  • Features (70): Bluetooth, ANT+, heart rate support, 40+ apps and a device holder, but no built-in screen.
  • Practicality (62) and affordability (48): it separates in two and rolls on casters, but it is 96 inches long; affordability carries only 5% in this guide.

Design and Build Quality

The RowErg box holds the Model D rower, the PM5 monitor, a device holder, the manual and the tools for assembly. The frame uses aluminum front legs and steel rear legs, and the whole machine weighs 57.3 lb.

Owners on Amazon point to how solid it feels and how fast it goes together; one counts only eight screws in the assembly. Amazon’s summary of owner feedback places it at the top of the rowers they would buy.

Bottom line: a simple, sturdy frame that is quick to build.

Resistance, Damper and Rowing Feel

Resistance comes from a fan flywheel. The harder and faster you pull, the more air it moves and the heavier each stroke feels, so there are no preset levels to outgrow. The damper on the flywheel housing changes how much air enters, which changes how the stroke feels, not how hard you have to work.

Owners describe it as a full-body workout. Beginners can row easily at a low effort, and strong rowers still find room to push. If you want a set level that stays the same at any speed, a magnetic rower fits better; our air vs magnetic rowing machine comparison explains the difference.

Bottom line: a stroke that scales with you, from first row to hard intervals.

Fit, Rail and Seat

The Amazon listing gives a 14-inch seat height, adjustable footrests and an ergonomic handle.

The listing does not state the rail length or the maximum inseam. The manufacturer lists a 54-inch monorail and an inseam up to 38 inches. Those are the figures that earn its #2 spot in our best rowing machine for tall people guide.

Bottom line: room for tall rowers, with fit figures from the maker rather than the listing.

PM5 Monitor, Apps and Heart Rate

The PM5 shows your effort as pace, watts or calories, with time, distance, stroke rate and strokes. The listing calls its data accurate and comparable, which is why many rowers use it to compare sessions over months. It runs on two D batteries, and it draws power from the spinning flywheel during a workout to extend battery life.

Bluetooth and ANT+ connect the PM5 to apps and to heart rate monitors. The listing says it works with over 40 apps, and the device holder keeps a phone or tablet in view. No heart rate strap is listed in the box, and there is no built-in screen for classes.

Bottom line: the most complete monitor in our air guide.

Footprint, Storage and Noise

In use, the RowErg measures 96 × 24 inches, and the listing recommends a 9 × 4 ft space. That makes it the longest rower in our air guide, so measure the room first.

For storage, it separates into two pieces, and caster wheels move it. The listing does not give stored dimensions. The flywheel design keeps noise down, per the listing, and Amazon’s owner summary calls it quiet. Still, a fan makes a whoosh that grows with your effort, so it is louder than a magnetic rower in a shared space.

Bottom line: long in use, easy to split up, and louder than magnetic.

Setup, Warranty and Support

The box includes all the tools for assembly and step-by-step instructions, and owners report a quick build.

Coverage is a limited 5-year frame warranty and 2 years on parts. That is longer than most rowers in our data, including the 1-year frame terms of many compact magnetic models. The RowErg on this listing is sold by Concept2, Inc. on Amazon.

Bottom line: quick to set up, with long frame coverage.

Concept2 RowErg vs Rivals

Here is how the Concept2 RowErg compares with the other four rowers in our best air rowing machine guide, using the same FitScore weights.

Concept2 RowErg compared with similar rowing machines
Comparehead to headTHIS REVIEW
Concept2 RowErg
Concept2 RowErgFitScore87.7/100
Alternative 1
Aviron Strong Series Rower
Aviron Strong Series RowerFitScore79.7/100
Alternative 2
Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic Rower
Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic RowerFitScore77.9/100
Alternative 3
GMWD Air Rowing Machine
GMWD Air Rowing MachineFitScore77.3/100
Resistance (type, levels)AirAir + MagneticAir + Magnetic, 16 levelsAir, 10 levels
Max user weight500 lb507 lb300 lb500 lb
Fit (rail / inseam / height)54-in rail; inseam up to 38 inUsers up to 6 ft 8 in52.6-in rail; users up to 6 ft 9 in50-in rail; users up to 6 ft 3 in
Length × width (in use)96 × 24 in84 × 27 in91.3 × 22 in95 × 24 in
StorageSeparates in twoStands uprightFolds and stands uprightFolds and stands upright, about 32.7 × 28.7 in of floor
Monitor and metricsTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, watts, heart rate22-in touchscreen; time, distance, strokes, calories, heart rateTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, heart rateTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate
Warranty5 years frame, 2 years parts10 years frame, 1 year parts3 years frame, 6 months parts2 years frame, 2 years parts
Check PriceCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on Amazon

Alternatives to the Concept2 RowErg

Built-in screen: Choose the Aviron Strong Series Rower if you want a 22-inch screen with games and streaming, a 507-lb rating and a 10-year frame warranty. The membership is optional. It ranks #2 in our best air rowing machine guide; see our Aviron Strong Series review.

Folds and stands upright: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic Rower if you want air and magnetic resistance with 16 levels, a 52.6-inch rail and a frame that folds and stands upright. It is rated for 300 lb.

Quiet magnetic stroke: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 if noise matters more than watts. It is a magnetic rower with 16 levels, a 50-inch rail and a 500 m split on the monitor, rated for 300 lb. Read our Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 review.

Water feel: Choose the WaterRower Oak with S4 Monitor if you want water resistance in a solid oak frame rated for 700 lb that stands upright. Its listed warranty is 1 year. Our Concept2 vs WaterRower comparison sets the two side by side.

Final Verdict

The Concept2 RowErg is the rower to check first if you want data you can trust, a frame rated for 500 lb and a stroke you will not outgrow. The PM5, the 5-year frame warranty and the 54-inch rail (manufacturer figure) earn its #1 spot in four of our guides. Its 96-inch length and fan noise are the trade-offs. If you need quiet, the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 is the closer fit.

Concept2 RowErg FAQ

For most home rowers who train with data, yes. It ranks #1 in four of our guides, including best rowing machine and best air rowing machine. It pairs a PM5 with split and watts, a 500-lb rating and a 5-year frame warranty. Its limits are the 96-inch length, fan noise and no built-in screen.

The Amazon listing does not give a height limit or rail length. The manufacturer lists a 54-inch monorail and an inseam up to 38 inches, which fits most tall adults. Measure your inseam to compare.

The maximum user weight is 500 lb, according to the Amazon listing. The rower itself weighs 57.3 lb and separates into two pieces.

The listing gives 96 × 24 inches in use and recommends a 9 × 4 ft space. For storage, it separates into two pieces that roll on caster wheels; the listing does not give stored dimensions.

It uses air resistance, so the fan makes a whoosh that grows with your effort. The listing says the flywheel design keeps noise down, and Amazon’s owner summary calls it quiet, but a magnetic rower is quieter in a shared space.

No. The PM5 works on its own, and it connects by Bluetooth and ANT+ to over 40 compatible apps, according to the listing. It ranks #1 in our best rowing machine without subscription guide.

This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.