
Short answer
Rowing machine dimensions run from about 57 inches long (compact magnetic and hydraulic rowers) to 96 inches (the Concept2 RowErg), and 16 to 32 inches wide for seated rowers. Plan for the length plus about 1 foot and the width plus about 2 feet. The calculator below checks your room against every rower we track.
Key takeaways
- Rowers run from about 57 to 96 inches long; length is the deciding number.
- Plan for the length plus about 1 foot and the width plus about 2 feet.
- The Concept2 RowErg is 96 x 24 x 14 inches and asks for a 9 x 4 ft space.
- Only 5 of 39 listings state a stored size, so storage claims need checking.
- Use the calculator to check your floor against every rower at once.
A rowing machine looks slim in photos, then turns out to be as long as a sofa. Length is the number that decides whether a rower fits, and it varies more than most buyers expect: the shortest models we track are under 5 feet long, the longest are 8 feet.
This page collects the rowing machine dimensions of every rower in our database, exactly as their Amazon US listings state them, with “Not stated” wherever a listing is silent. Use the calculator to check your room, then sort the table by length, width or weight. For space-saving picks ranked by FitScore, see our best folding rowing machine guide.
Rowing Machine Space Calculator: Will It Fit?
Enter the free floor of your room and your height. The calculator adds the clearance explained below and checks the 34 rowers whose listings state a size, in use and, where the listing says, stored. It also shows whether each listing states a user height that covers yours.
1Will a rowing machine fit your room?
Largest rower footprint that fits with clearance
–
Affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate, FitGearHQ earns from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Rankings come from our FitScore method, not from commissions.
How the check works: a rower fits in use when its listed length plus 12 inches, and its width plus 12 inches on each side, fit inside your free floor. That margin matches the Concept2 RowErg listing, which recommends 9 x 4 ft for an 8 x 2 ft machine. Wheelchair transfer adds a 30-inch strip beside the seat instead of 12 inches on that side. “Fits stored” is only checked when the listing states a stored size; otherwise the storage type is shown. Rowers with no stated in-use size are listed but not counted.
Typical Rowing Machine Dimensions by Type
The resistance system shapes the frame. Air rowers put a fan at the front of a long monorail, so they are the longest. Water rowers carry a tank at the front and sit a little shorter. Magnetic rowers range from compact folding frames to long-rail models for tall users. Hydraulic rowers are the smallest, because two short pistons replace the flywheel and the seat moves on a short rail.
The ranges below come from the listings that state a size. Width is 16 to 32 inches on seated rowers; the outlier is the Stamina BodyTrac Glider 1050 at 42.5 inches, because its two rowing arms stick out to the sides. For rowers matched to your height, see the best rowing machine for tall people ranking.
| Type | Listings with a size | Length in use | Width in use | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Air | 5 of 5 | 77 to 96 in | 18 to 24 in | 52.9 to 81.4 lb |
| Air + magnetic | 2 of 3 | 84 to 91.3 in | 22 to 26.99 in | 73.3 to 114 lb |
| Water | 6 of 8 | 70.5 to 82 in | 16.14 to 22.25 in | 46.9 to 98.1 lb |
| Magnetic | 16 of 18 | 57.88 to 81.7 in | 16.5 to 32 in | 38 to 145.2 lb |
| Electromagnetic | 2 of 2 | 80 to 86 in | 19 to 25 in | 102 to 145 lb |
| Hydraulic | 3 of 3 | 57.09 to 58.25 in | 20.1 to 42.5 in | 22.4 to 38 lb |
Dimensions of All 39 Rowing Machines
Every rower we track is in this table, whether or not we rank it. Values are copied from the Amazon US listing; when the text and the technical table disagree, the note says which number we used. Weight is the item weight the listing gives.
| Concept2 RowErg | Air | 96 | 24 | 14 | Separates in two | Not stated | 57.3 | Not stated | Technical table lists 24 D x 96 W x 14 H (length and width swapped). Listing: space recommended for use 9 x 4 ft. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Body-Solid Endurance R300 Air Rower | Air | 95 | 24 | 40 | Comes apart | Not stated | 81.4 | Not stated | Text gives 95.1 x 24.4 x 39.8 in. The multi-piece frame comes apart for storage and transport. |
| GMWD Air Rowing Machine | Air | 95 | 24 | 14 | Folds, stands upright | 32.7 x 28.7 in | 72 | 6 ft 3 in | Stored upright: 32.7 x 28.7 in of floor (listing). |
| Merach NovaRow R50 Aura Air Rower with 15.6-inch Screen | Air | 95 | 24 | 40 | Folds, stands upright | 55.7 x 22.4 x 12.6 in | 79 | 6 ft 10.7 in | Folded size 55.7 x 22.4 x 12.6 in; stores upright in two sections (listing). User height from a listing image. |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic Rower | Air + magnetic | 91.3 | 22 | 42.3 | Folds, stands upright | Not stated | 81.6 | 6 ft 9 in | |
| Hydrow Origin Rower | Electromagnetic | 86 | 25 | 47 | Stands upright | Not stated | 145 | Not stated | |
| Aviron Strong Series Rower | Air + magnetic | 84 | 26.99 | 48 | Stands upright | Not stated | 114 | 6 ft 8 in | |
| WaterRower Oak with S4 Monitor | Water | 82 | 22.25 | 20 | Stands upright | Not stated | 83.6 | Not stated | Text: about 82 x 22 x 20 in; the technical table gives 87.75 in long. The calculator uses 87.75 in. |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Rower with Extra Long Rail | Magnetic | 81.7 | 19.9 | 28.5 | Folds | Not stated | 62.9 | 6 ft 8 in | |
| NordicTrack RW700 Rower | Magnetic | 81.3 | 24.8 | 45.4 | Not stated | Not stated | 107.7 | Not stated | |
| Echelon Row S | Magnetic | 81 | 24 | 48 | Folds | Not stated | 123 | Not stated | Size from the listing text; the technical table gives 49.5 x 17 x 25 in, not labeled. |
| NordicTrack RW900 Rower | Magnetic | 80.1 | 21.8 | 52.7 | Not stated | Not stated | 145.2 | Not stated | |
| Hydrow Wave Rower | Electromagnetic | 80 | 19 | 43 | Stands upright | Not stated | 102 | Not stated | Upright storage needs a kit sold separately (listing). |
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 | Magnetic | 79.3 | 19.7 | 36.4 | Stands upright | Not stated | 68.2 | Not stated | |
| XTERRA ERG750W Water Rowing Machine | Water | 79.13 | 20.12 | 33.86 | Not stated | Not stated | 98.1 | Not stated | |
| Stamina ATS Air Rower | Air | 77 | 18 | 22 | Folds | Not stated | 52.9 | Not stated | Technical table lists 18 D x 77 W (length and width swapped). |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Foldable Magnetic Rower 44-Inch Rail | Magnetic | 76.8 | 22.8 | 22.8 | Folds | Not stated | 53.4 | Not stated | Technical table lists 22.8 D x 76.8 W (length and width swapped). |
| Merach NovaRow R7 Smart Rowing Machine with 21.5-inch Screen | Magnetic | 73.9 | 32 | 17.8 | Not stated | Not stated | 66.1 | 6 ft 4.8 in | Height from the technical table; it appears to exclude the screen. |
| YOSUDA Foldable Water Rowing Machine | Water | 73.6 | 16.14 | 14.96 | Folds | Not stated | 55 | 6 ft 6 in | |
| Dripex Foldable Water Rowing Machine | Water | 72.8 | 17.7 | 17.7 | Folds, stands upright | Not stated | 55.6 | 6 ft 5 in | |
| YOSUDA PRO Foldable Magnetic Rower H-187 | Magnetic | 72.45 | 20.08 | 34.05 | Folds | Not stated | 59.5 | Not stated | |
| JOROTO Foldable Water Rowing Machine | Water | 70.9 | 17.5 | 21.7 | Folds, stands upright | Not stated | 52 | Not stated | |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Premium Water Rower | Water | 70.5 | 17.5 | 33.1 | Stands upright | Not stated | 56.8 | Not stated | |
| Merach Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic | 65 | 19.3 | 24.8 | Stands upright | 25.2 x 19.2 in | 42 | 6 ft 5 in | Listing: space for use 1.6 x 5.7 ft, for storage 1.6 x 2.1 ft (19.2 x 25.2 in). |
| YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB | Magnetic | 65 | 17.7 | 23.6 | Folds, stands upright | Not stated | 44.4 | 6 ft 3 in | |
| YOSUDA H-185 Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic | 64.57 | 17.72 | 28.35 | Not stated | Not stated | 54 | 6 ft 3 in | |
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW524079 | Magnetic | 64 | 19.3 | 27 | Stands upright | Not stated | 41.4 | Not stated | |
| Dripex Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic | 62 | 16.5 | 24.4 | Stands upright | Not stated | 41.5 | 6 ft 5 in | |
| Merach RS3 Scull Rowing Machine | Magnetic | 60 | 28.3 | 29.5 | Not stated | Not stated | 58.3 | Not stated | |
| Merach Foldable Compact Magnetic Rower | Magnetic | 58.3 | 18.9 | 28.4 | Folds | Not stated | 38 | 6 ft 1 in | Text gives 58.3 L x 18.9 W x 28.4 H in; the technical table swaps width and height. |
| Stamina BodyTrac Glider 1050 | Hydraulic | 58.25 | 42.5 | 18.13 | Folds | Not stated | 38 | Not stated | Width includes the two rowing arms. |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Hydraulic Rower | Hydraulic | 58.1 | 20.1 | 24.8 | Not stated | Not stated | 22.4 | Not stated | |
| YOSUDA H-181 Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic | 57.88 | 17.72 | 24.81 | Not stated | Not stated | 43 | 5 ft 11 in | Text gives 59 x 19 x 25 in. |
| FEIERDUN Hydraulic Rowing Machine | Hydraulic | 57.09 | 23.62 | 22.05 | Folds | Not stated | 31.9 | Not stated | |
| Merach R280 Water Rowing Machine | Water | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Folds, stands upright | Not stated | 50.6 | Not stated | Technical table: 60 x 18 x 30 in, not labeled as folded or in use. In-use length not stated. |
| Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Stands upright | 3.1 sq ft | 48.9 | Not stated | Technical table: 35 x 22 x 7 in, too small for a rower in use (likely the box). Upright storage takes 3.1 sq ft of floor. |
| Wenoker Foldable Water Rowing Machine | Water | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Folds, stands upright | 25.6 x 17.5 x 38.2 in | 46.9 | 6 ft 5 in | Technical table: 38 x 18 x 12.9 in, not labeled. Folded size 25.6 x 17.5 x 38.2 in (listing). |
| Merach R60N Air & Magnetic Rower | Air + magnetic | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Separates in two, stands upright | Not stated | 73.3 | Not stated | No dimensions on the listing. The rail comes apart in two for upright storage. |
| Echelon Row-7s Smart Rower | Magnetic | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Folds | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Technical table: 24 x 24 x 18 in, too small for a rower in use. No weight on the listing. Echelon's owner's manual gives 93.31 x 24.81 x 50.40 in (manufacturer figure, not used by the calculator). |
Click a column name to sort; swipe sideways inside the table on a phone. Sizes are in inches, length first (the longest side). “Not stated” means the Amazon listing does not give that figure in a form we can verify. Listings read on November 3, 2026.
Concept2 Rower Dimensions
The Concept2 RowErg is the reference indoor rower, and its size is the most searched. On its Amazon listing it measures 96 x 24 x 14 inches (244 x 61 x 36 cm): 8 feet long, 2 feet wide and 14 inches high at the seat. It weighs 57.3 lb (26 kg) and is rated for users up to 500 lb.
The listing recommends a 9 x 4 ft space for use (about 2.7 x 1.2 m). That is the length plus 1 foot and the width plus 2 feet, the margin our calculator uses for every rower. For storage, the RowErg separates into two pieces and rolls on caster wheels; the listing gives no stored size for the two halves.
Two fit figures do not appear on the Amazon listing: Concept2’s own site gives the monorail as 54 inches and an inseam limit of 38 inches. If you plan to train by pace, our rowing pace calculator turns a 500 m split into a finish time.
| Measure | Inches / pounds | Metric |
|---|---|---|
| Length in use | 96 in (8 ft) | 244 cm |
| Width | 24 in (2 ft) | 61 cm |
| Height | 14 in | 36 cm |
| Seat height | 14 in | 36 cm |
| Space recommended for use | 9 x 4 ft | 2.7 x 1.2 m |
| Weight | 57.3 lb | 26 kg |
| Storage | Separates in two, caster wheels | Stored size not stated |
Pro tip: The technical table on the Concept2 listing prints 24 D x 96 W x 14 H. The 96 inches is the length: the rower is 2 feet wide, not 8.
Hydrow Dimensions: Origin vs Wave
Hydrow lists the Origin at 86 x 25 x 47 inches and 145 lb, with a 22-inch touchscreen. The Wave is shorter and narrower at 80 x 19 x 43 inches and 102 lb, with a 16-inch screen. The height figure includes the screen, which matters under a low shelf or window, not for the floor.
Both stand upright for storage, but the Wave listing says the upright storage kit is sold separately. Neither listing states an upright height or a stored footprint. Both need a membership for the touchscreen workouts; if you prefer a rower that works fully without one, see the best rowing machine without subscription guide.
How Much Space Do You Need Around a Rower?
You need room to step over the rail and sit down, and room at the front for your hands and the handle. You also need a little at the back, because the seat rolls to the end of the rail on every stroke. Listings that state a use space differ: the Concept2 listing asks for 1 foot more length and 2 feet more width than the machine, while the Merach Q1S listing gives 1.6 x 5.7 ft, close to its own footprint.
For public gyms, the 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design require a clear floor space at exercise machines, positioned for transfer or for use from a wheelchair, and that space measures at least 30 by 48 inches; the standards name rowing machines as their own type of cardiovascular machine. At home, the same 30 x 48-inch strip beside the seat is a sensible target if someone transfers from a wheelchair or needs a helper. Choose “Wheelchair transfer” in the calculator to apply it.
Think about children and pets too. The American Academy of Pediatrics lists rowing machines among home exercise machines that can seriously injure young children, and advises against setting them up in rooms where children play; it also suggests supervising young children around home gym equipment and locking the room if you can.
| Rower length | Width | Floor to plan (standard) | With a 30-inch transfer space |
|---|---|---|---|
| 58 in (compact) | 19 in | 70 x 43 in (5 ft 10 in x 3 ft 7 in) | 70 x 61 in |
| 65 in (compact magnetic) | 19 in | 77 x 43 in (6 ft 5 in x 3 ft 7 in) | 77 x 61 in |
| 80 in (water or long rail) | 20 in | 92 x 44 in (7 ft 8 in x 3 ft 8 in) | 92 x 62 in |
| 96 in (Concept2 RowErg) | 24 in | 108 x 48 in (9 x 4 ft) | 108 x 66 in |
Storage: Folding, Upright and Two-Piece Rowers
Most rowers save floor space in one of three ways. Folding rowers lift the rail up toward the front. Upright rowers tip onto their front end and stand like a tall cabinet. Two-piece rowers, like the Concept2 RowErg and the Merach R60N, come apart at the rail.
Very few listings put a number on the stored size. Of the 39 rowers here, only 5 do: the GMWD Air Rowing Machine (32.7 x 28.7 inches of floor when upright), the Merach Q1S (1.6 x 2.1 ft, or about 19 x 25 inches), the Merach NovaRow R50 Aura (55.7 x 22.4 x 12.6 inches folded), the Wenoker Foldable Water Rowing Machine (25.6 x 17.5 x 38.2 inches folded) and the Wenoker Magnetic Rowing Machine (3.1 sq ft of floor). For the rest, the listing says how the rower stores, not how much room it takes.
An upright rower stands roughly as tall as it is long, so check the ceiling and any shelf above the spot, and keep it where it cannot be pulled over. If storage is the main constraint, compare the picks in our best folding rowing machine guide.
- Folds: the rail lifts toward the front; the footprint shrinks, the height grows.
- Stands upright: the whole rower rests on its front end, on a small patch of floor.
- Separates in two: the rail detaches; each piece is easier to move and store.
- Not stated: the listing gives no storage method at all.
How We Checked These Numbers
Every size on this page comes from the Amazon US listing of the rower, read on November 3, 2026, from the listing text and its technical table. We give the longest side as the length, because some tables swap depth and width (the Concept2 RowErg, the Stamina ATS Air Rower and a Sunny Health & Fitness folding rower), and one table swaps width and height (the Merach Foldable Compact Magnetic Rower).
When a table shows a size that cannot be the rower in use, such as 35 x 22 x 7 inches, and the listing does not say what it measures, we mark the in-use size “Not stated” and quote the table in the note. When the text and the table disagree, we show the text value and the calculator uses the larger one. We never estimate a missing figure.
These are the same specs that feed our FitScore. Read how we score for the method, or compare complete rankings in the best rowing machine guide.
Measurement Checklist Before You Buy
6 checks
Tap a number to check off that step.
- 01
Measure the free floor, not the room: skip rugs that will move, radiators and furniture.
- 02
Take the rower length from the listing text, and treat the longest side as the length.
- 03
Add about 12 inches of length and 24 inches of width, or 30 inches beside the seat for a transfer.
- 04
Check your height against the tallest user the listing states, or the rail length if it gives one.
- 05
For upright storage, check the ceiling and keep the rower out of reach of young children.
- 06
Check the door and hallway width for the assembled rower if you will move it between rooms.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1Reading a technical table that lists 96 inches as the width.
Mistake 2Taking a folded or box size as the size in use.
Mistake 3Planning the floor for the machine only, with no room to step over the rail.
Mistake 4Assuming a rower stores upright when the listing only says it folds.
Mistake 5Buying a compact rower without checking the user height on the listing.
The Bottom Line
- We list 39 rowers; 34 of their Amazon listings state an in-use size and only 5 state a stored size.
- Air rowers are the longest (77 to 96 inches); compact magnetic and hydraulic rowers are the shortest (57 to 65 inches).
- The Concept2 RowErg measures 96 x 24 x 14 inches, and its listing recommends a 9 x 4 ft space for use.
- Hydrow lists the Origin at 86 x 25 x 47 inches and the Wave at 80 x 19 x 43 inches.
- Several technical tables swap length and width or show a folded or box size: always take the longest side as the length.
Frequently Asked Questions
On the listings we track, rowing machines are about 57 to 96 inches long in use and 16 to 32 inches wide, and up to 42.5 inches wide on a hydraulic model with side arms. Air rowers are the longest at 77 to 96 inches; compact magnetic and hydraulic models are the shortest.
Plan for the rower length plus about 1 foot and its width plus about 2 feet. The Concept2 RowErg listing recommends 9 x 4 ft for its 8 x 2 ft frame. If someone transfers from a wheelchair, plan a 30 x 48-inch clear space beside the seat, the size the ADA standards use in public gyms.
The Concept2 RowErg is 96 inches (8 feet, 244 cm) long, 24 inches wide and 14 inches high on its Amazon listing, and it weighs 57.3 lb. The listing recommends a 9 x 4 ft space for use. It separates into two pieces for storage.
Hydrow lists the Origin at 86 x 25 x 47 inches and 145 lb, and the Wave at 80 x 19 x 43 inches and 102 lb. Both stand upright for storage; the Wave listing says the upright storage kit is sold separately.
Often, yes. Compact magnetic and hydraulic rowers are 57 to 65 inches long, so with clearance they need about 69 to 77 inches of floor length and about 43 to 48 inches of width. Check the user height on the listing, because short rails limit tall rowers.
Roughly as tall as it is long, but most listings do not state it. The Wenoker Foldable Water Rowing Machine gives 38.2 inches folded, and the Merach NovaRow R50 Aura stores upright in two sections without a stated upright height. Measure your ceiling and leave room to tip the rower up.






