
The best rowing machine without subscription is the Concept2 RowErg: its PM5 monitor shows every number you need, including 500 m split, watts and heart rate, with no membership, and it pairs with the free ErgData app and 40+ compatible apps. Avoid rowers whose listing says the screen or stats need an active membership, as Hydrow listings do.
Some rowing machines are sold like hardware and run like a service. Their screen, workout history or classes stop working once a monthly membership ends, and the listing says so in the small print. If you would rather pay once and row, the monitor and the free connections matter more than the size of the screen.
This guide shows which rowers depend on a membership, what a standalone monitor should display, and how we weighted the score for buyers who want nothing recurring. It then ranks five rowers that work fully without a paid plan. For the wider field, including machines judged on other criteria, see our best rowing machine ranking.
Comparison Table
| Compareat a glance | TOP PICK![]() | Pick 2![]() | Pick 3![]() | Pick 4![]() | Pick 5![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best For | Best Overall | Best With a Free App | Smallest Footprint | Best Screen, Membership Optional | Best Folding Pick |
| Resistance | Air | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Air + Magnetic | Magnetic, 16 levels |
| Max User Weight | 500 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 507 lb | 350 lb |
| Length in Use | 96 in | 79.3 in | 64 in | 84 in | 65 in |
| Fit | Inseam up to 38 in | 50-in rail | 45.7-in rail | Users up to 6 ft 8 in | 46-in rail |
| Storage | Separates in two | Stands upright | Stands upright | Stands upright | Folds and stands upright |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Key Takeaways
- Best Overall: Concept2 RowErg Nothing on the Concept2 RowErg waits for a membership.
- Best With a Free App: Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021 The listing states it outright: the SunnyFit app is free, with no membership fees.
- Smallest Footprint: Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079 At 64 inches long and 41.4 lb, this is the easiest rower here to fit and move: it stands upright and rolls on wheels, which earns it a Practicality score of 94.
- Best Screen, Membership Optional: Aviron Strong Series Rower The only pick with a built-in screen, a 22-inch touchscreen, and the listing calls its membership optional while recommending it for interactive content.
- Best Folding Pick: YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB The only pick here that folds as well as standing upright, the YPOO lists no membership and pairs with the YPOO app or Kinomap over Bluetooth.
- The Concept2 RowErg is the best rowing machine without subscription (FitScore 78.2): its PM5 needs no membership.
- Hydrow listings tie the touchscreen, stats and library to an active membership.
- Aviron is the only pick with a screen, and its membership is optional.
- Features count for 20% here, so the monitor and free apps weigh heavily.
- Both Sunny Health & Fitness models pair with the free SunnyFit app.
The 5 Best Rowing Machines Without a Subscription
All five keep their monitor and stats working with no membership. Of the five, only the Aviron listing mentions a membership, and it calls it optional.
Best Overall: Concept2 RowErg
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines Without Subscription
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Concept2 RowErg review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
Nothing on the Concept2 RowErg waits for a membership. The PM5 monitor shows time, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, watts and heart rate, and Bluetooth plus ANT+ send them to the free ErgData app or 40+ compatible apps. The air fan with a continuous damper earns the top Performance score, and the 500 lb limit and 5-year frame warranty tie it with the Aviron for the top Durability score. There is no screen for classes, and the fan is the loudest system here. Amazon reviewers note that it goes together with only a handful of screws.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Intervals and sprint pieces
- Pacing by 500 m split and watts
- Users up to 500 lb
For
- Storing it in two pieces
- Heavier users (up to 500 lb)
- Tall rowers (inseam up to 38 in)
Not For
- Quiet early or late sessions
- Rooms under 10 ft long
- Folding storage (it separates instead)
Key Specs
- Resistance: Air
- Max user weight: 500 lb
- Length in use: 96 in
- Fit: Inseam up to 38 in
- Warranty: 5 yr frame, 2 yr parts
Pros
- 500 m split and watts on the monitor
- 5-year frame warranty
- Inseam up to 38 in
Cons
- Fan noise
- 96 in long in use
- 2-year parts warranty
Best With a Free App: Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines Without Subscription
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
The listing states it outright: the SunnyFit app is free, with no membership fees. On the machine itself, the LCD shows seven metrics, including pulse and a 500 m split, and a device holder takes your phone or tablet. Magnetic resistance with 16 levels keeps it quiet enough for the full Noise score, the 50-inch rail scores well on fit, and it stands upright on wheels. It trails the Concept2 by under a point. The weak spots are a 300 lb limit and a 6-month parts warranty, with 3 years on the frame.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Pacing by 500 m split
- Users up to 300 lb
For
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Tall rowers (50-in rail)
- Homes with shared walls
Not For
- Users above 300 lb
- Resistance that rises with effort
- Classes on a built-in screen
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Length in use: 79.3 in
- Fit: 50-in rail
- Warranty: 3 yr frame, 0.5 yr parts
Pros
- Quiet magnetic resistance
- 50-in rail
- Stores upright, with wheels
Cons
- 6-month parts warranty
- 300-lb user limit
- No built-in screen
Smallest Footprint: Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079
Presentation
Smallest footprint
Pick 3
Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines Without Subscription
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
At 64 inches long and 41.4 lb, this is the easiest rower here to fit and move: it stands upright and rolls on wheels, which earns it a Practicality score of 94. The monitor shows six metrics, including stroke rate and 500 m split, and it pairs with the free SunnyFit app; a device holder is included. Magnetic resistance with 16 levels keeps it quiet. The listing states no heart rate, and the 45.7-inch rail is short for tall rowers. Durability is its weak point, with a 300 lb limit and 6 months on parts.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Pacing by 500 m split
- Users up to 300 lb
For
- Small rooms (64 in long)
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Homes with shared walls
Not For
- Users above 300 lb
- Heart rate training on the monitor
- Resistance that rises with effort
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Length in use: 64 in
- Fit: 45.7-in rail
- Warranty: 3 yr frame, 0.5 yr parts
Pros
- Quiet magnetic resistance
- Only 64 in long in use
- 500 m split on the monitor
Cons
- No heart rate listed
- 6-month parts warranty
- 300-lb user limit
Best Screen, Membership Optional: Aviron Strong Series Rower
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines Without Subscription
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Aviron Strong Series review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
The only pick with a built-in screen, a 22-inch touchscreen, and the listing calls its membership optional while recommending it for interactive content. Air and magnetic resistance, a 507 lb user limit, a 10-year frame warranty and room for users up to 6 ft 8 in give it strong Durability and Comfort scores. It is also the bulkiest pick at 114 lb and 84 by 27 inches, and the listing does not state transport wheels. The listing does not detail which screen functions remain without a membership, so read it closely before you buy.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Intervals with a set base load
- Classes on the 22-in screen
- Users up to 507 lb
For
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Heavier users (up to 507 lb)
- Tall rowers (users up to 6 ft 8 in)
Not For
- Quiet early or late sessions
- Rooms under 9 ft long
- Training by split or watts
Key Specs
- Resistance: Air + Magnetic
- Max user weight: 507 lb
- Length in use: 84 in
- Fit: Users up to 6 ft 8 in
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- Users up to 6 ft 8 in
- 10-year frame warranty
- Air and magnetic resistance
Cons
- Fan noise
- 84 in long in use
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Best Folding Pick: YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines Without Subscription
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
The only pick here that folds as well as standing upright, the YPOO lists no membership and pairs with the YPOO app or Kinomap over Bluetooth. Its 16 magnetic levels score full marks on Noise, and the listing claims under 25 dB. At 65 x 17.7 inches and 44.4 lb, with wheels, it takes the top Practicality score. It is rated for 350 lb with a 46-inch rail and users up to 6 ft 3 in. The limits: no 500 m split or heart rate on the monitor, and 1 year on frame and parts. Owners call the magnetic system quiet, though some find even the lowest setting heavy.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Users up to 350 lb
- Putting away after each session
For
- Small rooms (65 in long)
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Homes with shared walls
Not For
- Training by split or watts
- Buyers who want long coverage
- Heart rate training on the monitor
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 350 lb
- Length in use: 65 in
- Fit: 46-in rail
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- Only 65 in long in use
- 16 quiet magnetic levels
- 46-in rail
Cons
- No heart rate listed
- 1-year frame warranty
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Which Rowing Machines Need a Membership?
Read the listing before you read the spec sheet. The wording to look for is “requires an active membership” or a named plan next to the screen or the stats. Three patterns show up on Amazon US.
Membership required. Hydrow listings say the touchscreen, the stats and the content library require an active membership. Without one, the screen is not the console you paid for. Membership for the content. On the NordicTrack RW900, iFIT content needs iFIT Pro; check what the console does on its own before you buy. Membership optional. Aviron lists its membership as optional while recommending it for the interactive games and streaming. No membership. The Concept2 RowErg, both Sunny Health & Fitness models and the YPOO list none: the monitor works out of the box, and the apps they name are free or optional.
| Rower | Membership | What the listing says |
|---|---|---|
| Hydrow | Required | Touchscreen, stats and library require an active membership |
| NordicTrack RW900 | Required for iFIT content | iFIT content needs iFIT Pro |
| Aviron Strong Series Rower | Optional | Recommended for interactive content (games, streaming) |
| Concept2 RowErg | None | PM5 monitor; ErgData and 40+ compatible apps |
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 and SF-RW524079 | None | Free SunnyFit app, no membership fees |
| YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB | None | Works with the YPOO app and Kinomap |
Watch out: If the screen and your stats stop working when a membership lapses, you are renting the console. Only rowers that keep their monitor working without one are ranked below.
What the Best Rowing Machine Without Subscription Shows on Its Own
With no classes on a screen, the monitor is your coach. The numbers that matter most for steady progress are the 500 m split (your pace), stroke rate and, if you train by effort, heart rate. Watts give the most direct measure of output.
Coverage varies a lot. The Concept2 PM5 shows eight metrics, including watts and heart rate, and sends them by Bluetooth or ANT+. The Sunny SF-RW523021 shows seven, with pulse and a 500 m split. The compact Sunny SF-RW524079 has six, with a split but no heart rate. The Aviron lists five, including heart rate, and the YPOO five as well: time, distance, strokes, calories and stroke rate, with no split or heart rate. If you plan to train in heart rate zones, our heart rate zone calculator gives you the ranges to watch. Zones are enough to build a plan: in a 10-week rowing trial, women in their 60s rowed three 30-minute sessions a week at 60 to 80% of peak heart rate and raised their peak oxygen uptake.
- 500 m split: Concept2, Sunny SF-RW523021 and Sunny SF-RW524079.
- Watts: Concept2 only.
- Heart rate: Concept2, Sunny SF-RW523021 and Aviron.
- Free app named on the listing: ErgData (Concept2), SunnyFit (both Sunny models).
- Device holder: Concept2, Aviron, YPOO and both Sunny models, so you can run your own app or video on a phone or tablet.
Size, Fit and Sound Without the Screen
Skipping a membership does not change the room you have. The five picks run from 64 inches (Sunny SF-RW524079) to 96 inches (Concept2) long in use. The Aviron is the heaviest at 114 lb and the widest at 27 inches, but it carries a 507 lb user limit and fits users up to 6 ft 8 in. The YPOO is the narrowest at 17.7 inches, and it folds and stands upright. For leg room, the Concept2 has a 54-inch rail for inseams up to 38 inches, the Sunny SF-RW523021 a 50-inch rail, the YPOO a 46-inch rail and the SF-RW524079 a 45.7-inch rail. The Concept2 is also the only pick whose listing gives a seat height, at 14 inches.
Sound follows the resistance: the two Sunny rowers and the YPOO are magnetic and the quietest, and the Concept2 fan is the loudest. The YPOO listing claims less than 25 dB, a manufacturer figure with no test distance given. The Aviron combines air and magnetic resistance and sits between them on our Noise line. Tall or heavy rowers can check our rowing machine for tall people and rowing machine for heavy people rankings.
Rowers Without a Subscription Compared
Values come from each Amazon US listing; the Concept2 rail and inseam come from Concept2’s own page because the listing does not give them. “Not stated” means the listing leaves it out.
| Rowing machine | Resistance | Max user weight | Rail / fit | Footprint (L x W, in) | Storage | Monitor / app | FitScore |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concept2 RowErg | Air | 500 lb | 54 in monorail, inseam up to 38 in (Concept2 site); 14 in seat height | 96 x 24 | Separates in two | PM5, 8 metrics; ErgData, no membership | 78.2 |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021 | Magnetic, 16 levels | 300 lb | 50 in rail | 79.3 x 19.7 | Stands upright | LCD, 7 metrics; SunnyFit (free) | 77.3 |
| Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079 | Magnetic, 16 levels | 300 lb | 45.7 in rail | 64 x 19.3 | Stands upright | Monitor, 6 metrics; SunnyFit (free) | 74.1 |
| Aviron Strong Series Rower | Air + magnetic | 507 lb | Users up to 6 ft 8 in | 84 x 27 | Stands upright | 22 in touchscreen; membership optional | 73.4 |
| YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB | Magnetic, 16 levels | 350 lb | 46 in rail, users up to 6 ft 3 in | 65 x 17.7 | Folds and stands upright | Monitor, 5 metrics; YPOO app, Kinomap | 73.2 |
Checklist Before You Buy a Rowing Machine Without a Membership
7 checks
Tap a number to check off that step.
- 01
Search the listing for “membership” and “subscription” before anything else.
- 02
Confirm the screen and stats work with no active plan.
- 03
Check which metrics the built-in monitor shows: split, stroke rate, heart rate.
- 04
Note whether the app on the listing is free or optional.
- 05
Make sure there is a device holder if you will use your own app.
- 06
Measure the floor for the length in use.
- 07
Compare the frame and parts warranty, since the hardware is all you keep.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1Assuming a big touchscreen works the same with and without a membership.
Mistake 2Choosing a rower for its classes when you plan to row on your own.
Mistake 3Buying a monitor without a 500 m split and then trying to follow a plan.
Mistake 4Counting on a third-party app without checking its own terms.
Mistake 5Overlooking the parts warranty because the frame warranty looks long.
How We Selected the Best Rowing Machine Without Subscription
Only rowers that work fully without a paid membership were eligible: the listing must state no membership or an optional one. A rower whose listing ties the screen, the stats or the core workouts to an active membership, as Hydrow listings do, was left out. Each pick also had to be a seated rower, in stock on Amazon US with a buy box, and we kept at most two models per brand.
The weights shift toward what you keep after the box is open. Features doubles to 20% because the console and the free connections are all you get, while Comfort and Practicality give up points. Specs come from the Amazon US listing (manufacturer page only when the listing is silent); a value the listing does not state scores zero. How we score covers the full method.
| Category | Weight | What it measures for this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 25% | Resistance system and range, plus what the built-in monitor reports with no app |
| Durability | 20% | Max user weight, frame and parts warranty, stated frame material: the machine has to outlast any app |
| Comfort | 10% | Fit for your height and how smooth the resistance type feels |
| Practicality | 5% | Storage, length in use, weight and transport wheels |
| Features | 20% | What works without a plan: Bluetooth, a named app, heart rate, a screen or device holder, programs, number of metrics |
| Affordability | 10% | An internal list-price tier, never shown; a required membership lowers it |
| Noise | 10% | Sound of the resistance system, from magnetic (quietest) to air (loudest) |
Decision Shortcuts
Decide first how much you want the machine to tell you without a phone, then fit it to your room.
Best Overall: You want full training data and nothing to renew: choose Concept2 RowErg.
Best With a Free App: You want a quiet rower with heart rate on the console and a free app: choose Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021.
Smallest Footprint: You row in a small room and track pace, not heart rate: choose Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW524079.
Best Screen, Membership Optional: You want a big screen but may never pay for the content: choose Aviron Strong Series Rower, after checking what its listing says works without a membership.
Best Folding Pick: You want a quiet rower that folds and are happy with basic numbers: choose YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB.
Final Verdict
Concept2 RowErg is our first choice for most people shopping for a rowing machine without subscription. Hydrow listings state that the touchscreen, stats and workout library require an active membership. On the NordicTrack RW900, iFIT content needs an iFIT Pro membership. Aviron lists its membership as optional, though it recommends one for interactive content. The Concept2, both Sunny Health & Fitness models and the YPOO list no membership at all, and their monitors work with no app. A built-in monitor with a 500 m split lets you track progress with no app open.
For most buyers, Concept2 RowErg is the best rowing machine without subscription we would check first, after confirming its current price and availability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, on many models. The Concept2 RowErg, both Sunny Health & Fitness rowers and the YPOO list no membership, and their monitors work out of the box. Some connected rowers are different: Hydrow listings say the touchscreen, stats and library need an active membership, so check the listing first.
No. The PM5 monitor shows pace, watts, calories and five other metrics on its own, and it connects by Bluetooth and ANT+ to the free ErgData app and 40+ compatible apps. Nothing on the listing requires a membership.
The Aviron Strong Series Rower listing calls the membership optional, while recommending it for the interactive content such as games and streaming. The listing does not detail which screen functions remain without it, so read the current listing before you rely on the screen alone.
On the NordicTrack RW900, iFIT content requires an iFIT Pro membership. If you want a rower that is complete without a plan, choose one whose listing states no membership, such as the Concept2 RowErg.
Yes. The listing for the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 describes SunnyFit as a free app with no membership fees, and the compact SF-RW524079 pairs with the same free app. Both rowers also show your stats on their own monitor.
Yes. Rowing is seated, low-impact cardio that works the legs, back and arms, and a monitor with pace and stroke rate is enough to structure sessions. The CDC adult activity guidelines describe how much weekly aerobic activity adults should aim for. With no heart rate reading, the American Heart Association talk test works: at moderate effort, most people can still hold a conversation.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.











