
This WaterRower review covers the WaterRower Oak with the S4 monitor, the classic wooden water rower. It is handmade in the USA from solid oak, uses the brand’s WaterFlywheel, and the Amazon listing rates it for 700 lb. It is about 82 inches long and stands upright for storage.
It ranks #2 in our best rowing machine for seniors guide and #5 in our best water rowing machine guide. Below: how it rows, who it fits, why its seat height matters, how the Amazon warranty compares with what the brand states, and which rower to pick instead.
WaterRower Oak S4 Review: The Short Answer
Our verdict
FitScore 74.3/100
WaterRower Oak S4
Buy it if you want a solid wood water rower built to last, with heart rate on the monitor and upright storage. Skip it if you need a folding rower, a long warranty on the Amazon listing, or a seat you can sit down on without bending low.
- Water resistance from the WaterFlywheel
- Solid oak, made in the USA, 700-lb rating
- About 82 × 22.25 in, stands upright to store
Best Usage
- Steady cardio sessions
- Daily rows at home
- Rowing in a living space
Best For
- Fans of a water stroke
- Heavier users
- Rooms where looks matter
Not For
- Folding storage
- Long warranty coverage
- Users who struggle with low seats
Key Specs
- Resistance: Water (WaterFlywheel)
- Max user weight: 700 lb
- Fit: users up to 6 ft 6 in
- Size in use: 82 × 22.25 in
- Weight: 83.6 lb
Pros
- Solid oak frame, 700-lb rating
- Monitor shows stroke rate and heart rate
- Stands upright and rolls on wheels
Cons
- 1-year warranty on the Amazon listing
- Heavy at 83.6 lb
- Low seat, about 9 inches
WaterRower Oak S4 Specs at a Glance
| Spec | WaterRower Oak S4 | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Resistance | Water | Paddles turn in a water tank, so the stroke feels and sounds close to rowing on water. |
| Resistance levels | No preset levels: the pull gets heavier the harder you row | You set the load with your effort: pull harder and the water pushes back more. |
| Max user weight | 700 lb | The highest rating of any rower in our water guide, per the listing’s technical details. |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | Users up to 6 ft 6 in | WaterRower states the standard rail fits users up to about 2 m (6 ft 6 in); the Amazon listing gives no rail length. |
| Length × width (in use) | 82 × 22.25 in | Plan close to 7 ft of floor in length while you row; the listing text gives about 82 inches. |
| Storage | Stands upright | It tips up onto its end; there is no fold. |
| Product weight | 83.6 lb | Heavy for a home rower, but the wheels let one person roll it upright. |
| Monitor and metrics | Time, distance, stroke rate, heart rate | Stroke rate and heart rate help you pace a session; the listing does not mention a 500 m split or watts. |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth; WaterRower Connect, CITYROW | The S4 BLE monitor connects to WaterRower Connect and CITYROW for tracking and classes. |
| Subscription | None required | The rower and monitor work without a paid plan. |
| Warranty | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | This is the term on the Amazon listing; the brand states longer coverage on its own site. |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Values come from the WaterRower Oak S4 Amazon US listing (checked November 2026). The listing text gives a length of about 82 inches, while its technical table says 87.75 inches; we use the listing text. The seat height and rail fit come from WaterRower’s own specs because the listing does not state them.
Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the WaterRower Oak S4 and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists rowing machine recalls and the fix offered.
The CDC physical activity guidelines for adults recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, and steady rowing sessions count toward it. In a study of 107 adults aged 20 to 74, rowing on an ergometer used more energy than cycling at the same power output.
WaterRower Oak S4 FitScore
FitScore rates each rowing machine on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). This review uses the weights of our best water rowing machine guide, where the WaterRower Oak S4 ranks #5 with the same score, tied with the Dripex water rower and placed on the unrounded score. Performance and durability count most (25% each), then comfort (20%), practicality and affordability (10% each), and features and noise (5% each).
FitScore for Water Rowers
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines 7 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.
- Comfort (100): fits users up to 6 ft 6 in, with the smooth stroke of water resistance.
- Performance (76): water resistance with stroke rate and heart rate on the monitor, but no stated 500 m split or watts.
- Practicality (75): stands upright and has wheels, held back by its 82-inch length and 83.6-lb weight.
- Durability (73): the 700-lb rating and solid oak help; the 1-year warranty on the Amazon listing pulls it down.
- Features (55) and noise (65): Bluetooth, two apps and heart rate, but no screen and no device holder listed; water is quieter than air, not as quiet as magnets.
Design and Build Quality
WaterRower makes the Oak in the USA from Appalachian hardwoods that it says are ethically harvested and replenished. The brand says it uses commercial-grade components in its home rowers, and the listing rates the Oak for 700 lb, the highest figure among the rowers in our water guide.
Amazon reviews for this listing cover several WaterRower wood versions, so we only use what they say about the shared design. Owners describe the build as solid and the seat as smooth gliding. Inspect the wood for marks when it is delivered.
Bottom line: a solid, furniture-grade frame that is built for years of use.
Resistance and Rowing Feel
The WaterFlywheel is a set of paddles that spin in a water tank. There are no preset levels: the resistance rises with your effort, so a gentle row stays light and a hard pull gets heavier.
Owners praise the real rowing feel and the soft, calming sound of the water. The stroke suits long, steady sessions more than all-out power work.
Bottom line: a natural, calming water stroke.
Fit, Seat Height and Seniors
WaterRower states that the standard rail fits users up to about 2 m (6 ft 6 in); the Amazon listing gives no rail length. Users taller than that need a longer rail, which this listing does not include.
The seat sits low, at about 9 inches per WaterRower. Getting down to it and back up takes more knee and hip bend than a raised seat. That matters for seniors and anyone with stiff knees or hips, so try a low chair of the same height before you order. It still ranks #2 in our best rowing machine for seniors guide on comfort, durability and its smooth stroke.
Bottom line: fits most adults; the low seat is the point to check.
Monitor, App and Connectivity
The S4 BLE monitor runs on 4 AA batteries, which come in the box. The listing shows time, distance, stroke rate and heart rate. Stroke rate helps you keep an even pace, and heart rate lets you row by effort zone.
Bluetooth links the monitor to WaterRower Connect and CITYROW. No paid plan is needed to row or to use the monitor. The listing shows no phone or tablet holder.
Bottom line: more useful data than most water rowers in its class.
Footprint, Storage and Noise
The listing text gives about 82 × 22 × 20 inches, so plan close to 7 ft of floor in length while rowing. The rower does not fold. It tips up onto its end and rolls on wheels, which frees most of that floor between sessions.
At 83.6 lb, it is heavier than the folding water rowers in our guide. The water makes a soft swish on each stroke: quieter than air, louder than a magnetic rower.
Bottom line: long in use, compact when stood upright.
Setup, Warranty and Support
Owners describe assembly as straightforward. WaterRower runs U.S. customer support from Rhode Island by phone and email, Monday to Friday.
The Amazon listing gives a 1-year warranty, and that is the term this WaterRower review scores and reports. WaterRower states longer frame and parts coverage on its own site. Since you buy the Amazon version through our links, confirm the warranty with the seller before you order.
Bottom line: good support, with short coverage on the Amazon listing.
WaterRower Oak S4 vs Rivals
Here is how the WaterRower Oak S4 compares with three other rowers from our best water rowing machine guide, using the same FitScore weights.
| Comparehead to head | THIS REVIEW![]() | Alternative 1![]() | Alternative 2![]() | Alternative 3![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resistance (type, levels) | Water | Water | Water | Water |
| Max user weight | 700 lb | 400 lb | 400 lb | 350 lb |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | Users up to 6 ft 6 in | Users up to 6 ft 6 in | Inseam up to 39 in | Users up to 6 ft 5 in |
| Length × width (in use) | 82 × 22.25 in | 73.6 × 16.14 in | 70.9 × 17.5 in | Not stated on the listing |
| Storage | Stands upright | Folds | Folds and stands upright | Folds and stands upright, about 25.6 × 17.5 in of floor |
| Monitor and metrics | Time, distance, stroke rate, heart rate | Time, distance, strokes, calories | Time, distance, strokes, calories | Time, distance, calories |
| Warranty | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 2 years frame, 1 year parts | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 2 years frame, 2 years parts |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Alternatives to the WaterRower Oak S4
Folding water rower: Choose the YOSUDA Foldable Water Rowing Machine if you want a water stroke in a beech frame that folds, a 400-lb rating, users up to 6 ft 6 in and a 2-year frame warranty. It ranks #1 in our water guide. Read our YOSUDA rowing machine review.
Folds and stands upright: Choose the JOROTO Foldable Water Rowing Machine if you want an oak water rower that both folds and stands upright, with a stated 39-inch maximum inseam and a 400-lb rating. It is 70.9 inches long and weighs 52 lb.
Split times and watts: Choose the Concept2 RowErg if you want air resistance, a monitor with 500 m split and watts, a 54-inch rail and a 5-year frame warranty on its listing. See our Concept2 vs WaterRower comparison.
Final Verdict
The bottom line of this WaterRower review: the WaterRower Oak S4 is the rower to choose if you want a solid oak water rower made to last, with heart rate on the monitor. Its 700-lb rating, natural stroke and upright storage suit a home where the rower stays in view. The 1-year warranty on the Amazon listing, the 83.6-lb weight and the low seat are the trade-offs. If you want a frame that folds and a longer warranty on Amazon, the YOSUDA Foldable Water Rowing Machine is the closer fit.
WaterRower Oak S4 FAQ
For a buyer who wants a water stroke and a wood frame that lasts, it is a strong pick. It is made in the USA from solid oak, rated for 700 lb on the listing, and shows stroke rate and heart rate. The trade-offs are the 1-year warranty on Amazon, the 83.6-lb weight and a frame that does not fold.
The Amazon listing gives a 1-year warranty, and that is the term we report. WaterRower states longer frame and parts coverage on its own site, but terms can differ by seller. Confirm the warranty with the Amazon seller before you order.
WaterRower states that the standard rail fits users up to about 2 m, or 6 ft 6 in. The Amazon listing does not give a rail length. Users above that height need a longer rail, which this listing does not include.
It ranks #2 in our best rowing machine for seniors guide for its smooth stroke, build and heart rate data. The seat is low, about 9 inches per WaterRower, so getting on and off takes more knee and hip bend than a raised seat. Try a low chair of that height first.
No. It stands upright on its end for storage and rolls on wheels. In use, the listing text gives about 82 × 22 × 20 inches. If you need a rower that folds, the YOSUDA and JOROTO water rowers in our water guide both do.
It is quieter than an air rower, and owners describe the water sound as soft and calming. It is not silent, though: each stroke makes a swish. A magnetic rower is the quieter choice if you row while others sleep.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.








