
The best magnetic rowing machine for most home rowers is the Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021 (FitScore 79.9/100). It pairs 16 magnetic levels with a 50-inch rail, a monitor that shows 500 m split and pulse, and the free SunnyFit app with no membership. If floor space is the bigger issue, the YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB is 65 inches long, folds and then stands upright.
A magnetic rower is the machine to pick when noise is the problem: an apartment with neighbors below, a baby asleep down the hall, or a TV you want to hear while you row. There is no fan pushing air and no tank sloshing water. Magnets slow a metal flywheel, and the loudest part left is usually the seat rolling on the rail.
Quiet is the easy part. This guide explains what separates magnetic from electromagnetic resistance, why the top level on some magnetic rowers feels lighter than buyers expect, and how much rail you need for your height. It then ranks five magnetic models sold on Amazon US to find the best magnetic rowing machine for a quiet home. For every resistance type side by side, see our best rowing machine guide.
Comparison Table
| Compareat a glance | TOP PICK![]() | Pick 2![]() | Pick 3![]() | Pick 4![]() | Pick 5![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best For | Best Overall | Best Folding Pick | Best Tall-User Fit | Compact Pick With Splits | Shortest Footprint |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels |
| Max User Weight | 300 lb | 350 lb | 350 lb | 300 lb | 350 lb |
| Length in Use | 79.3 in | 65 in | 65 in | 64 in | 62 in |
| Fit | 50-in rail | 46-in rail | Users up to 6 ft 5 in | 45.7-in rail | 48.8-in rail |
| Storage | Stands upright | Folds and stands upright | Stands upright | Stands upright | Stands upright |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Key Takeaways
- Best Overall: Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021 The most complete magnetic rower here.
- Best Folding Pick: YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB The only rower here that folds and also stands upright, on wheels, at 44.4 lb and 65 by 17.7 inches in use.
- Best Tall-User Fit: Merach Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine Merach lists the Q1S for users up to 6 ft 5 in and 350 lb, on a dual slide rail, while keeping the machine to 65 inches long and 42 lb.
- Compact Pick With Splits: Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079 A 64-inch, 41.4 lb rower that still shows 500 m split and stroke rate, which the other compact picks here skip.
- Shortest Footprint: Dripex Magnetic Rowing Machine At 62 by 16.5 inches in use, the Dripex takes the least floor in this list, and at 41.5 lb it stands upright on wheels.
- The Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 is our best magnetic rowing machine overall (FitScore 79.9/100): 50-inch rail, 500 m split and a free app.
- Magnetic and electromagnetic rowers are the quietest types; all five picks here are manual magnetic.
- A level count is a scale, not a strength rating; several owners find the top setting light.
- Match the rail to your legs: 50 inches or more suits most adults.
- For 350 lb capacity look at the YPOO, Merach Q1S or Dripex; for the smallest footprint, the 62-inch Dripex.
The 5 Best Magnetic Rowing Machines
All five are quiet by design. The differences are rail length, capacity, how much data the monitor shows and how the machine stores.
Best Overall: Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Magnetic Rowing Machines
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
The most complete magnetic rower here. It has 16 levels, a 50-inch rail, a device holder and a monitor that shows 500 m split, stroke rate and pulse, with Bluetooth and the free SunnyFit app (no membership fees). It is rated for 300 lb, carries a 3-year frame warranty and stands upright on wheels to store. Its Comfort score of 87 ties for the best in this list. The limit: at 79.3 inches it is the longest machine here, and its parts warranty is 6 months.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Pacing by 500 m split
- Users up to 300 lb
For
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Tall rowers (50-in rail)
- Homes with shared walls
Not For
- Users above 300 lb
- Resistance that rises with effort
- Classes on a built-in screen
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Length in use: 79.3 in
- Fit: 50-in rail
- Warranty: 3 yr frame, 0.5 yr parts
Pros
- Quiet magnetic resistance
- 50-in rail
- Stores upright, with wheels
Cons
- 6-month parts warranty
- 300-lb user limit
- No built-in screen
Best Folding Pick: YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Magnetic Rowing Machines
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
The only rower here that folds and also stands upright, on wheels, at 44.4 lb and 65 by 17.7 inches in use. That storage gives it a full Practicality score. It has 16 levels, a 46-inch rail, a 350 lb limit and users up to 6 ft 3 in, with Bluetooth for the YPOO app and Kinomap and a device holder. The listing claims under 25 dB, a manufacturer figure with no distance or meter given. The limits: a 1-year frame and parts warranty, no heart rate and no 500 m split.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Users up to 350 lb
- Putting away after each session
For
- Small rooms (65 in long)
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Homes with shared walls
Not For
- Training by split or watts
- Buyers who want long coverage
- Heart rate training on the monitor
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 350 lb
- Length in use: 65 in
- Fit: 46-in rail
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- Only 65 in long in use
- 16 quiet magnetic levels
- 46-in rail
Cons
- No heart rate listed
- 1-year frame warranty
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Best Tall-User Fit: Merach Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Magnetic Rowing Machines
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Merach Q1S review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
Merach lists the Q1S for users up to 6 ft 5 in and 350 lb, on a dual slide rail, while keeping the machine to 65 inches long and 42 lb. It stores upright in about 1.6 x 2.1 ft and works with the Merach App and Kinomap. The monitor tracks time, distance, strokes and calories but no 500 m split, and heart-rate support is not stated on the listing. Owners say it runs quietly enough that others in the next room cannot hear it, though some find the top levels too light.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Users up to 350 lb
- Putting away after each session
For
- Small rooms (65 in long)
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Tall rowers (users up to 6 ft 5 in)
Not For
- Training by split or watts
- Buyers who want long coverage
- Heart rate training on the monitor
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 350 lb
- Length in use: 65 in
- Fit: Users up to 6 ft 5 in
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- 16 quiet magnetic levels
- Only 65 in long in use
- Users up to 6 ft 5 in
Cons
- No heart rate listed
- 1-year frame warranty
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Compact Pick With Splits: Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079
Presentation
Compact pick with splits
Pick 4
Sunny Health & Fitness Compact Smart Magnetic Rower SF-RW524079
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Magnetic Rowing Machines
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
A 64-inch, 41.4 lb rower that still shows 500 m split and stroke rate, which the other compact picks here skip. It has 16 levels, a steel frame, a 3-year frame warranty, transport wheels and the free SunnyFit app, and it stores vertically. The 45.7-inch rail is the shortest here and suits shorter to average-height rowers better than tall ones, which holds its Comfort score to 61. The parts warranty is 6 months, and the listing does not state heart rate.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Pacing by 500 m split
- Users up to 300 lb
For
- Small rooms (64 in long)
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Homes with shared walls
Not For
- Users above 300 lb
- Heart rate training on the monitor
- Resistance that rises with effort
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Length in use: 64 in
- Fit: 45.7-in rail
- Warranty: 3 yr frame, 0.5 yr parts
Pros
- Quiet magnetic resistance
- Only 64 in long in use
- 500 m split on the monitor
Cons
- No heart rate listed
- 6-month parts warranty
- 300-lb user limit
Shortest Footprint: Dripex Magnetic Rowing Machine
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Magnetic Rowing Machines
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
At 62 by 16.5 inches in use, the Dripex takes the least floor in this list, and at 41.5 lb it stands upright on wheels. The aluminum frame carries a 12-lb flywheel, 16 levels and a 48.8-inch rail, with users up to 6 ft 5 in and 350 lb on the listing. The listing claims it runs below 15 decibels, a manufacturer figure with no conditions given. The limits: no app is named and heart rate is not supported, so Features scores 25, the lowest here. The monitor shows basic metrics, and the warranty is 1 year.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 16 quiet levels
- Users up to 350 lb
- Putting away after each session
For
- Small rooms (62 in long)
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Tall rowers (48.8-in rail)
Not For
- Training by split or watts
- Buyers who want long coverage
- Heart rate training on the monitor
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 350 lb
- Length in use: 62 in
- Fit: 48.8-in rail
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- 16 quiet magnetic levels
- Only 62 in long in use
- 48.8-in rail
Cons
- No heart rate listed
- 1-year frame warranty
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Magnetic vs Electromagnetic Resistance
On a manual magnetic rower, a knob or lever moves a set of magnets toward a metal flywheel. The closer they sit, the stronger the drag and the harder each stroke feels. You choose the level; the machine holds it. That is the main contrast with air and water rowers, where drag climbs steeply the harder and faster you pull.
An electromagnetic rower sets the magnetic force with electric current instead of moving the magnets by hand. The console or an app can then change resistance on its own during a program. The trade-off is power: most electromagnetic models need an outlet, which limits where you can row.
Every rower in this list is a manual magnetic model with 16 levels. In our FitScore, magnetic and electromagnetic systems share the same top noise and smoothness scores, so the ranking below turns on fit, capacity, data and storage rather than on the brake itself.
| Resistance type | How you change it | Noise in our scoring |
|---|---|---|
| Magnetic (manual) | Knob or lever moves magnets toward the flywheel | Quietest (100/100) |
| Electromagnetic | Console or app sets the current; usually needs an outlet | Quietest (100/100) |
| Water | Set by how hard you pull; some tanks take more water | Moderate (65/100): a steady swish |
| Air (fan) | Set by how hard you pull, plus a damper | Loudest (35/100): fan noise rises with effort |
Levels, Flywheel and Why Level 16 Can Feel Light
A higher level count does not mean a heavier top setting. Sixteen levels split the range into finer steps; they say nothing about how strong the brake is at the end of that range. Brands also number their levels differently, so comparing level 10 across two machines tells you little.
The ceiling is set by the magnets and the flywheel. With the magnets fully engaged, a strong rower driving hard with the legs can still outpull the brake, and the stroke then feels light. For the Merach Q1S here, the Amazon owner summary says exactly that: some buyers find the top levels too light. Air rowers do not hit a fixed ceiling the same way, because drag keeps rising with effort.
Flywheel weight affects how smooth the stroke feels: a heavier wheel keeps spinning through the recovery. Only the Dripex listing gives a flywheel weight (12 lb) in the specs we use. The other four do not, so flywheel weight is not part of the score.
Watch out: If you are strong, train for power or plan short, hard intervals, read what owners say about the top level before you buy. A magnetic rower suits steady, quiet cardio best.
Rail Length vs Your Height
At the finish of each stroke your legs are straight and the seat sits far back on the rail. If the rail is too short, the seat hits the end stop before your legs extend, and you row cramped. Leg length matters more than total height, so taller rowers with long legs need the most rail. The Concept2 rowing technique guide shows the full leg, body and arm sequence.
In our scoring, a rail of 50 inches or more earns most of the fit points, and the score drops quickly under about 46 inches. Our rowing machine for tall people guide sets its bar at 48 inches of rail or a stated user height of 6 ft 4 in. When a listing gives a user height instead of a rail length, we score that.
| Rower | What the listing states | Who it suits |
|---|---|---|
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 | 50-inch rail | Most adults, including many taller rowers |
| Dripex Magnetic Rowing Machine | 48.8-inch rail; users up to 6 ft 5 in | Tall rowers, per the listing |
| Merach Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine | Users up to 6 ft 5 in; rail length not stated | Tall rowers, per the listing |
| YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB | 46-inch rail; users up to 6 ft 3 in | Rowers up to about 6 ft 3 in |
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW524079 | 45.7-inch rail | Shorter to average-height rowers |
Pro tip: If you are close to a limit, choose a rower whose stated user height sits a few inches above yours, or the longer rail of two otherwise similar machines.
Magnetic Rowing Machines Compared
Specs come from each Amazon US listing. Where a listing does not state a value, the table says so.
| Rower | Resistance | Max user weight | Rail / fit | Footprint (L x W, in) | Storage | Monitor / app | FitScore |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 | Magnetic, 16 levels | 300 lb | 50-inch rail | 79.3 x 19.7 | Stands upright | 500 m split, pulse; SunnyFit (free) | 79.9 |
| YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB | Magnetic, 16 levels | 350 lb | 46-inch rail, users up to 6 ft 3 in | 65 x 17.7 | Folds and stands upright | Basic metrics plus stroke rate; YPOO app, Kinomap | 78.3 |
| Merach Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic, 16 levels | 350 lb | Users up to 6 ft 5 in | 65 x 19.3 | Stands upright | Basic metrics; Merach App, Kinomap | 77.7 |
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW524079 | Magnetic, 16 levels | 300 lb | 45.7-inch rail | 64 x 19.3 | Stands upright | 500 m split; SunnyFit (free) | 77.3 |
| Dripex Magnetic Rowing Machine | Magnetic, 16 levels | 350 lb | 48.8-inch rail, users up to 6 ft 5 in | 62 x 16.5 | Stands upright | Basic metrics; no app named on the listing | 74.4 |
Pro tip: “Basic metrics” means time, distance, strokes and calories. A 500 m split, shown by both Sunny rowers, is the pace figure most rowing plans use.
Checklist Before You Buy a Magnetic Rowing Machine
8 checks
Tap a number to check off that step.
- 01
Confirm the resistance is magnetic or electromagnetic on the listing, not air or water.
- 02
If it is electromagnetic, check that you have an outlet where you will row.
- 03
Compare the rail length or stated user height with your own leg length.
- 04
Check the max user weight against your weight with some margin.
- 05
Read owner comments about the top resistance level if you train hard.
- 06
Decide whether you need a 500 m split or only basic metrics.
- 07
Measure the floor for the length in use and the storage spot.
- 08
Look at both the frame and the parts warranty.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1Assuming 16 levels means more total resistance than 8.
Mistake 2Comparing level numbers between two brands.
Mistake 3Buying a short-rail compact rower when you have long legs.
Mistake 4Expecting an air-rower ceiling from a magnetic brake.
Mistake 5Ignoring a short parts warranty because the frame warranty is long.
Mistake 6Forgetting that an electromagnetic rower usually needs a power outlet.
How We Selected the Best Magnetic Rowing Machine
Every rower gets a FitScore out of 100 across seven categories. The weights below are set for this article: a buyer who wants a quiet machine, so Noise counts for 15 points, more than in our general rowing guide, and Durability and Performance carry the most.
To be eligible, a rower must use magnetic or electromagnetic resistance, be a seated rower (not a full-motion trainer), and be active and in stock with an Amazon buy box. No brand can take more than two of the five spots. Specs come from the Amazon US listing (manufacturer page only when the listing is silent); a value the listing does not state scores zero. Star ratings and review counts are never part of the score.
| Category | Weight | What it measures for this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 20 | Resistance system, number of levels and monitor data (500 m split and watts score best) |
| Durability | 20 | Max user weight, frame and parts warranty, frame material stated |
| Comfort | 15 | Fit for your height (inseam, rail length or stated user height) and stroke smoothness |
| Practicality | 10 | Storage type, length in use, machine weight and transport wheels |
| Features | 10 | Bluetooth, apps, heart rate, screen or device holder, programs and the range of metrics |
| Affordability | 10 | Internal list-price tier; never shown in the article |
| Noise | 15 | Set by resistance type: magnetic and electromagnetic score highest |
Decision Shortcuts
Start with your height and your room, then decide how much data you want. Rowing is moderate to vigorous cardio that can count toward the weekly aerobic activity in the CDC physical activity guidelines. The American Heart Association intensity guide places moderate effort at 11 to 14 on a 1-to-20 exertion scale, a pace where most people can still hold a conversation.
Best Overall: You want one quiet rower that does it all: choose Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021, with a 50-inch rail, 500 m split and a free app.
Best Folding Pick: You want it to fold away into a closet: choose YPOO Magnetic Rowing Machine 350 LB, which folds, stands upright and is rated for 350 lb.
Best Tall-User Fit: You are tall and short on floor space: choose Merach Q1S, listed for users up to 6 ft 5 in on a 65-inch frame that stands upright.
Compact Pick With Splits: You train by pace and have a small room: choose Sunny SF-RW524079, if a 45.7-inch rail fits your legs.
Shortest Footprint: Every inch of floor counts: choose Dripex Magnetic Rowing Machine, 62 by 16.5 inches, listed for users up to 6 ft 5 in and 350 lb.
Final Verdict
Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021 is our first choice for most people shopping for a magnetic rowing machine. Magnetic resistance earns the top noise score in our method: no fan or water tank, just magnets acting on a metal flywheel. All five picks are manual magnetic rowers with 16 levels; none of them is electromagnetic. Level numbers are brand scales, not units, so level 16 on one rower is not level 16 on another. Rail length decides fit: 50 inches on the Sunny SF-RW523021, 48.8 inches on the Dripex, 45.7 inches on the compact Sunny. Max user weight runs from 300 lb (both Sunny rowers) to 350 lb (YPOO, Merach Q1S and Dripex).
For most buyers, Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Magnetic Rowing Machine SF-RW523021 is the best magnetic rowing machine we would check first, after confirming its current price and availability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. They are the quietest type of rowing machine, because the resistance comes from magnets acting on a metal flywheel, with no fan or water. Most of the sound left comes from the seat rolling on the rail and the strap or chain. That is why magnetic and electromagnetic rowers get the top noise score in our method.
Both are equally quiet and smooth. A manual magnetic rower uses a knob or lever and runs anywhere. An electromagnetic rower lets the console or an app change resistance automatically during a program, but it usually needs a power outlet. If you do not plan to follow programs, manual magnetic is simpler.
The top level is limited by the magnets and the flywheel. Once the magnets are fully engaged, a strong rower can outpull the brake. Level counts only divide the range into steps. Force also climbs with pace: in a 2023 study of muscle activity on a rowing ergometer, the force rowers produced rose with stroke rate. The Amazon owner summary for the Merach Q1S mentions a light top setting, so strong rowers may prefer air resistance.
Look at the rail or the stated user height. The Sunny SF-RW523021 lists a 50-inch rail and the Dripex a 48.8-inch rail. The Merach Q1S and the Dripex list users up to 6 ft 5 in. Avoid compact rowers with rails under about 46 inches if you have long legs.
A manual magnetic rower moves its magnets mechanically, so the resistance works without an outlet. Check the listing for how the monitor is powered. Electromagnetic rowers change resistance with electric current and usually need to be plugged in, which limits where you can place them.
A magnetic rower is quieter and holds the level you set. A water rower gives a swishing sound and resistance that rises with effort, closer to rowing a boat. In our scoring, water scores slightly higher on smoothness and magnetic higher on noise. Pick magnetic when quiet matters most.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.











