
This Sunny rowing machine review covers the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021, the brand’s most-ranked rower in our guides. It is a magnetic rower with 16 resistance levels, a 50-inch dual slide rail and a 300-lb user rating. It is 79.3 inches long, weighs 68.2 lb and stands upright for storage.
The SF-RW523021 ranks #1 in our best magnetic rowing machine guide and sits in the top 5 of four more: #5 in our best rowing machine guide and the without-subscription guide, and #4 in the small spaces and seniors guides. Below: how it rows, who it fits, what its monitor shows, where its length and short parts coverage hold it back, and which rower to pick instead.
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 Review: The Short Answer
Our verdict
FitScore 78.7/100
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021
Buy it if you want a quiet magnetic rower with a full-length rail and a monitor that shows your 500 m split. Skip it if you are over 300 lb, if you need a short rower for a small room, or if you train by watts.
- Magnetic resistance, 16 levels, 50-inch dual rail
- Monitor with 500 m split, stroke rate and pulse
- Free SunnyFit app, stands upright to store
Best Usage
- Steady cardio sessions
- Split-based interval rows
- Early or late workouts
Best For
- Rowers who want a long rail
- Shared homes and apartments
- Training without a membership
Not For
- Users over 300 lb
- Very short rooms (79.3 in long)
- Watts-based training
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Rail: 50 in
- Size in use: 79.3 × 19.7 in
- Weight: 68.2 lb
Pros
- Magnetic flywheel, among the quietest systems
- 50-inch rail on a dual track
- 500 m split and pulse on the monitor
Cons
- 300-lb rating, below many rivals
- 180-day coverage on parts
- Heavier than compact rowers at 68.2 lb
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 Specs at a Glance
| Spec | Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Resistance | Magnetic | A magnet brake on the flywheel: smooth and close to silent. |
| Resistance levels | 16 levels | You set the load by level; the pull stays even through the stroke. |
| Max user weight | 300 lb | Fine for most adults, but below the 350-lb rating of the YPOO and Merach Q1S in the same guide. |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | 50-in rail | A full-length rail; Sunny does not list a maximum inseam or user height. |
| Length × width (in use) | 79.3 × 19.7 in | Plan a strip of floor a little over 6.6 ft long while you row. |
| Storage | Stands upright | It stands on its end; the listing gives no stored dimensions, so check the ceiling height where it will stand. |
| Product weight | 68.2 lb | Heavier than compact rowers, but transport wheels make it easier to move. |
| Monitor and metrics | Time, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, heart rate | Pulse and the 500 m split are on the screen, which many rowers in this class lack. There is no watts readout. |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth; SunnyFit (free) | SunnyFit is free, with no membership fees, per the listing. |
| Subscription | None required | Every feature on the machine works without a paid plan. |
| Warranty | 3 years frame, 6 months parts | Solid frame coverage; the short parts term is the weak point. |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Values come from the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 Amazon US listing (checked November 2026). The listing does not state the seat height, the stored dimensions, the maximum inseam or user height, or a noise figure, so they are left out.
Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists rowing machine recalls and the fix offered.
The CDC physical activity guidelines for adults recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, and steady rowing sessions count toward it. In a study of 107 adults aged 20 to 74, rowing on an ergometer used more energy than cycling at the same power output.
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 FitScore
FitScore rates each rowing machine on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). The SF-RW523021 ranks best in our best magnetic rowing machine guide, where it is #1 with the same score, so this review uses that guide’s weights. Performance and durability count most (21% each), then comfort (16%), practicality and features (11% each) and affordability (10%). A magnetic rower is bought for a smooth, quiet stroke, so the guide also gives noise a 10% weight, and this rower earns the top noise rating.
FitScore for Magnetic Rowers
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines 6 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.
This buying intent also gives noise a 10% weight (rated by resistance system, magnetic quietest and fan air loudest: 100/100 here); it counts in the total above.
- Noise weight (10%): magnetic resistance earns the top noise rating, which this guide adds to the six categories.
- Comfort (87): the 50-inch rail and the smooth magnetic stroke lead the score; the listing gives no inseam or height limit.
- Practicality (86): it stands upright and rolls on front wheels, held back by its 79.3-inch length and 68.2-lb weight.
- Performance (81): magnetic resistance with 16 levels and a monitor with 500 m split, stroke rate and pulse; no watts.
- Features (70) and durability (60): Bluetooth, a free app and a device holder, but no screen; the 300-lb rating and 180-day parts term keep durability in the middle.
Design and Build Quality
The SF-RW523021 uses an alloy steel frame with a dual slide rail. Sunny says the rail carries protective covers that guard against scratches and keep the seat quiet as it rolls. Two tracks give the seat a steadier base than a single beam.
The seat is molded and padded, the pedals are semi-pivoting, and the handlebar is curved and covered. The whole rower weighs 68.2 lb, which is closer to a full-size rower than to the light compact models.
Bottom line: a steady, full-size frame for a magnetic rower.
Resistance and Rowing Feel
Resistance comes from magnets acting on the flywheel, set with 16 levels. The load does not climb much when you pull faster, as it does with air or water. You pick a level and keep the same feel from the first stroke to the last, which suits steady cardio and technique work.
If you want the pull to rise with your effort, an air rower fits better; our air vs magnetic rowing machine comparison explains the trade-off. Owner feedback on this Amazon listing mixes reviews of older Sunny models, so we do not summarize it here.
Bottom line: smooth and even, with a set level instead of a load that rises with speed.
Fit, Rail and Seat
The listing gives a 50-inch rail, one of the longest among magnetic rowers in our data. A long rail lets taller rowers reach full leg extension without the seat hitting the end stop. It still sits outside the top five of our best rowing machine for tall people guide, where rowers with a stated inseam or a stated height of 6 ft 6 in and more lead.
Sunny does not publish a maximum inseam or a maximum user height for this model. If you are well over 6 feet, measure your inseam and compare it with the rail once the rower arrives. The listing does not give the seat height either.
Bottom line: a long rail for a magnetic rower; very tall rowers should still check their inseam.
Monitor, App and Connectivity
The LCD shows time, stroke count, distance, calories, total count, strokes per minute, time per 500 m and pulse. It runs on two AAA batteries, and it adjusts for viewing from the seat. The 500 m split is the number most rowers use to pace intervals, and many compact rowers leave it out.
There is no watts readout. The listing shows pulse on the monitor but does not say how the pulse is read. Bluetooth links the rower to the free SunnyFit app, which Sunny says holds over 1,000 trainer-led workouts and over 10,000 scenic tours, with no membership fees. A device holder keeps a phone or tablet in view.
Bottom line: one of the more complete monitors among magnetic rowers.
Footprint, Storage and Noise
In use, the SF-RW523021 measures 79.3 × 19.7 inches and stands 36.4 inches high. That is a long rower, so plan the space before you order. When you are done, you roll it on its transport wheels and stand it upright. Stabilizers keep it steady on the floor.
The listing does not give stored dimensions. Standing on its end, a rower this long needs real ceiling height, so check the spot you have in mind. Magnetic resistance is one of the quietest systems, and Sunny calls the dual rail whisper-quiet and the resistance ultra-quiet, which suits shared walls and early mornings.
Bottom line: quiet to use, long in use, and tall when stored.
Setup, Warranty and Support
Sunny ships the rower with written instructions, a user manual, an adjustment guide and a video tutorial, and says its customer service can help during setup.
Coverage is 3 years on the structural frame and 180 days on other parts and components. The frame term is longer than the 1-year coverage of the YPOO and Merach Q1S. The parts term is short, so register the rower and check every level and the monitor in the first weeks.
Bottom line: easy to set up, with good frame coverage and short parts coverage.
Other Sunny Health & Fitness Models
The compact alternative is the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW524079. It keeps the magnetic resistance, the 16 levels, the 300-lb rating, the free SunnyFit app and the same warranty terms. It is 64 inches long and weighs 41.4 lb, with a 45.7-inch rail and a 40.9-inch slide-rail inseam. Its monitor shows the 500 m split but no pulse. It ranks #4 in our best magnetic rowing machine guide and #4 in our best budget rowing machine guide.
If you want a pull that rises with effort, the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW5940SMART pairs air and magnetic resistance with 16 levels and a 52.6-inch rail. It folds and stands upright, and it ranks #4 in our best air rowing machine guide.
Bottom line: the SF-RW523021 is the Sunny to pick for a long rail; the SF-RW524079 for a small room.
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 vs Rivals
Here is how the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 compares with the other four rowers in our best magnetic rowing machine guide, using the same FitScore weights.
| Comparehead to head | THIS REVIEW![]() | Alternative 1![]() | Alternative 2![]() | Alternative 3![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resistance (type, levels) | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels |
| Max user weight | 300 lb | 350 lb | 350 lb | 300 lb |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | 50-in rail | 46-in rail; users up to 6 ft 3 in | Users up to 6 ft 5 in | 45.7-in rail |
| Length × width (in use) | 79.3 × 19.7 in | 65 × 17.7 in | 65 × 19.3 in | 64 × 19.3 in |
| Storage | Stands upright | Folds and stands upright | Stands upright, about 25.2 × 19.2 in of floor | Stands upright |
| Monitor and metrics | Time, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, heart rate | Time, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate | Time, distance, strokes, calories | Time, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split |
| Warranty | 3 years frame, 6 months parts | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 3 years frame, 6 months parts |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Alternatives to the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021
Shorter and lighter: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW524079 if your room is short. It is 64 inches long and 41.4 lb, with a 45.7-inch rail and the same app and warranty. Our best rowing machine for small spaces guide covers rowers like it.
Higher user rating: Choose the Merach Q1S if you want a 350-lb rating in a 65-inch, 42-lb frame. Its monitor is basic, with no 500 m split. Read our Merach Q1S review.
Folds and stands upright: Choose the YPOO RM930 if you want a frame that both folds and stands upright, with a 46-inch rail and a 350-lb rating. It ranks #2 in our best folding rowing machine guide.
Watts and a 500-lb rating: Choose the Concept2 RowErg if you train by watts and split times and want a 500-lb rating and a 5-year frame warranty. It is louder, with air resistance. Read our Concept2 RowErg review.
Final Verdict
The Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 is the magnetic rower to check first if you want a long rail and real pacing data without a membership. Its quiet 16-level resistance, 50-inch rail and 500 m split on the monitor earn its #1 spot in our magnetic guide. The 300-lb rating, 180-day parts coverage and 79.3-inch length are the trade-offs. For a small room, the SF-RW524079 is the closer fit.
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW523021 FAQ
It ranks #1 in our best magnetic rowing machine guide and #5 in our best rowing machine guide. Its strengths are quiet magnetic resistance with 16 levels, a 50-inch rail and a monitor with 500 m split and pulse. Its limits are the 300-lb rating and 180-day parts coverage.
The Amazon listing gives a 50-inch rail. Sunny does not state a maximum inseam or user height for this model, so if you are very tall, measure your inseam and compare it with the rail when the rower arrives.
The maximum user weight is 300 lb, according to the Amazon listing. The rower itself weighs 68.2 lb and rolls on front wheels.
It does not fold. It stands upright on its end for storage. The listing does not give the stored dimensions, so check the ceiling height where you plan to keep it.
No. The monitor works on its own, and the SunnyFit app is free, with no membership fees, according to the listing. The rower connects to it by Bluetooth.
Both are Sunny magnetic rowers with 16 levels, a 300-lb rating and the free SunnyFit app. The SF-RW523021 is longer (79.3 in) with a 50-inch rail and pulse on the monitor. The SF-RW524079 is 64 inches long and 41.4 lb, with a 45.7-inch rail and no pulse readout.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.










