Aviron Rower Reviews (2026): Aviron Strong Series With 22-Inch Screen

Our recommendations are based on product specs and use-case fit. Affiliate links included. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Read our disclosure

Aviron Rower Reviews: illustration of man rowing on an air and magnetic rower with a large screen
Our Aviron Strong Series review covers specs, FitScore, owner feedback and the best alternatives. (Illustration, not an actual product photo.)

Most Aviron rower reviews start with the games. This one starts with the machine. The Aviron Strong Series is a dual air and magnetic rower with a 22-inch HD touchscreen, a 507-lb user rating and a fit for users up to 6 ft 8 in. It is 84 inches long, weighs 114 lb and stands upright for storage.

It ranks #2 in our best air rowing machine guide, #3 in our best rowing machine for heavy people guide and #4 in our best rowing machine without subscription guide. Below: how it rows, who it fits, what the optional membership adds, what the listing says about using it without one, and which rower to pick instead.

Aviron Strong Series Review: The Short Answer

Our verdict

FitScore 79.7/100

Aviron Strong Series

Aviron Strong Series rowing machine for home use

Buy it if you want a heavy-duty air and magnetic rower with a big built-in screen and a 10-year frame warranty. Skip it if you train by split times or watts, or if you need a light rower you can move every day.

  • Air + magnetic resistance, up to 100 lb
  • Users up to 507 lb and up to 6 ft 8 in
  • 22-in touchscreen, membership optional

See alternatives · Full specs

Best Usage

  • Strength and cardio blends
  • Game-style and guided sessions
  • Rowing in one fixed spot

Best For

  • Heavy and tall rowers
  • Screen-led workouts
  • Long frame coverage

Not For

  • Split and watts training
  • Moving it often (114 lb)
  • Quiet early mornings

Key Specs

  • Resistance: Air + magnetic, up to 100 lb
  • Max user weight: 507 lb
  • Fit: users up to 6 ft 8 in
  • Size in use: 84 × 27 in
  • Screen: 22-in HD touchscreen

Pros

  • 507-lb rating, fits up to 6 ft 8 in
  • 22-inch HD touchscreen built in
  • 10-year frame warranty

Cons

  • No 500 m split or watts listed
  • Interactive content needs a membership
  • 1-year parts warranty

Aviron Strong Series Specs at a Glance

Aviron Strong Series specifications and what they mean
SpecAviron Strong SeriesWhat it means for you
ResistanceAir + MagneticAn air fan and a magnet brake work together; Aviron rates the system at up to 100 lb of resistance.
Resistance levelsNot stated on the listingAviron does not publish a level count, only the 100-lb ceiling.
Max user weight507 lbOne of the highest ratings in our data, above the 500 lb of the Concept2 RowErg.
Fit (rail / inseam / height)Users up to 6 ft 8 inThe listing gives the height, not the rail length; 6 ft 8 in covers almost every adult.
Length × width (in use)84 × 27 inAbout 7 feet long; plan extra room behind the seat and beside the handle.
StorageStands uprightStands on its end without a wall mount, per the listing; stored dimensions are not given.
Product weight114 lbHeavy for a rower; tilting it up is a firm lift, and the listing does not mention wheels.
Monitor and metrics22-in touchscreen; time, distance, strokes, calories, heart rateThe basics plus heart rate; the listing names no 500 m split, stroke rate or watts.
Bluetooth and appsBluetooth; Aviron (games, streaming)Bluetooth links headphones, speakers and a heart rate monitor; Apple Watch is supported.
SubscriptionOptionalThe rower runs without a plan; games, races, classes and streaming sit behind the membership.
Warranty10 years frame, 1 year partsA long frame term; parts are covered for 1 year, and labor is not stated.

Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.

Values come from the Aviron Strong Series Amazon US listing (checked November 2026). The listing does not state the rail length, the seat height, the resistance level count, transport wheels or the stored dimensions, so they are left out.

Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the Aviron Strong Series and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists rowing machine recalls and the fix offered.

The CDC physical activity guidelines for adults recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, and steady rowing sessions count toward it. In a study of 107 adults aged 20 to 74, rowing on an ergometer used more energy than cycling at the same power output.

Aviron Strong Series FitScore

FitScore rates each rowing machine on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). The Aviron Strong Series ranks best in our best air rowing machine guide, where it is #2 with the same score, so this review uses that guide’s weights. Performance counts most (35%), then durability (25%), comfort (15%), practicality and features (10% each) and affordability (5%). Noise carries no weight here, because anyone shopping for air resistance accepts fan sound. An air rower is bought for hard training, so resistance, data and a frame that lasts come first.

FitScore for Air Rowers

Same weighting as our best air rowing machine guide.
79.7/100
Performance
81
Durability
93
Comfort
95
Practicality
51
Features
80
Affordability
15
How this FitScore was calculated

This FitScore combines 6 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.

Key scoring driver: The most heavily weighted factor is performance (35%).
Category
Score
Weight
Performance
81
35%
Durability
93
25%
Comfort
95
15%
Practicality
51
10%
Features
80
10%
Affordability
15
5%
  • Performance (81): dual air and magnetic resistance rated up to 100 lb, held back by a monitor without a listed 500 m split or watts.
  • Durability (93): a 507-lb rating, an alloy steel and aluminum frame and a 10-year frame warranty; parts get 1 year.
  • Comfort (95): the listing fits users up to 6 ft 8 in, with a 4-way adjustable foot carriage and 19-inch rotating handlebars.
  • Practicality (51): it stands upright, but it is 84 inches long, weighs 114 lb and the listing does not mention wheels.
  • Features (80): a 22-inch touchscreen, Bluetooth, heart rate support and a phone holder.

Design and Build Quality

The Strong Series uses an alloy steel and aluminum frame on a single long rail. It is 84 inches long, 27 inches wide and 48 inches tall at the screen, and it weighs 114 lb. That is close to twice the weight of the Concept2 RowErg, and it shows in the 507-lb user rating.

Aviron says the design went through more than 1 million test cycles. We cannot check that figure, so the 10-year frame warranty is the more useful signal: it is the longest frame term among the five rowers in our best air rowing machine guide.

Bottom line: a heavy, solid frame built to stay in one place.

Resistance and Rowing Feel

Resistance comes from an air fan and a magnetic brake working together, rated at up to 100 lb. With air, the pull grows as you drive harder. The magnetic side adds a base load you can set, so the stroke does not feel empty at an easy pace.

The listing gives the 100-lb ceiling but not a level count. The drive runs on a nylon belt, which Aviron calls commercial grade and whisper quiet; a belt is quieter than a chain, but the fan still moves air. If raw resistance is the goal, both this rower and the Concept2 suit hard training; the Concept2 gives you the numbers to measure it.

Bottom line: strong resistance for power and interval work.

Fit, Seat and Handle

Aviron lists users up to 6 ft 8 in and up to 507 lb, among the widest ranges in our rowing data. The seat is wide and, per Aviron, shaped to promote proper rowing form.

Two details stand out. The foot carriage adjusts four ways, for wide or narrow hips, and the 19-inch handlebars rotate, which lets your wrists follow a more natural line. The listing does not give the rail length or the seat height, so very tall rowers should still check their inseam against the rail on arrival.

Bottom line: a roomy, adjustable fit for big and tall rowers.

Screen and Membership: What Works Without It

The 22-inch HD touchscreen is built in. Aviron sells a membership separately and calls it “optional but highly recommended for interactive content”. The listing ties that content to the membership: the online community, streaming services, competitive races, multiplayer games, scenic rows and instructor-led classes.

The listing does not list, screen by screen, what the console shows without a plan. What does not depend on content is the hardware: the air and magnetic resistance, the adjustable foot carriage and handlebars, the phone holder and Bluetooth pairing. So plan on rowing and tracking basic sessions without a plan, but not on the games, races or classes the rower is known for. Check the current membership terms before you order if you never want to pay for one.

Bottom line: it rows without a plan, but its best content needs one.

Monitor Data and Connectivity

The listing names five metrics: time, distance, strokes, calories and heart rate. It does not name a 500 m split, stroke rate or watts, the numbers most rowers use to pace intervals. Pace data matters most in this guide, and that gap is what keeps the Strong Series behind the Concept2 RowErg.

Bluetooth pairs headphones, speakers and a heart rate monitor, and Aviron lists Apple Watch support. There is a built-in speaker and a phone holder. The rower is corded electric, so place it near an outlet.

Bottom line: good for heart rate, light on pace data.

Footprint, Storage and Noise

In use, it needs about 84 × 27 inches of floor, plus room to move around it. It stores upright without a wall mount, per the listing, but the stored dimensions are not given. At 114 lb with no wheels mentioned, tilting it up is a firm lift, not a nightly routine. If floor space is tight, our best rowing machine for small spaces guide covers lighter options.

Air resistance is never silent, because the fan moves air on every stroke. The belt drive keeps the mechanical sound down, but early sessions in a shared home will be heard.

Bottom line: a big rower that is easier to store than to move.

Setup, Warranty and Support

The listing lists easy assembly among its features. It is sold by Aviron Active Inc. on Amazon, so returns and support go through the seller.

Coverage is a 10-year frame warranty and a 1-year limited warranty on parts. The listing does not state labor coverage. Register the rower and test the screen, Bluetooth and both resistance systems in the first weeks.

Bottom line: long frame coverage, short coverage on the electronics.

Aviron Strong Series vs Rivals

Here is how the Aviron Strong Series compares with three other rowers from our best air rowing machine guide, using the same FitScore weights.

Aviron Strong Series compared with similar rowing machines
Comparehead to headTHIS REVIEW
Aviron Strong Series rowing machine
Aviron Strong SeriesFitScore79.7/100
Alternative 1
Concept2 RowErg
Concept2 RowErgFitScore87.7/100
Alternative 2
Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic Rower
Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic RowerFitScore77.9/100
Alternative 3
GMWD Air Rowing Machine
GMWD Air Rowing MachineFitScore77.3/100
Resistance (type, levels)Air + MagneticAirAir + Magnetic, 16 levelsAir, 10 levels
Max user weight507 lb500 lb300 lb500 lb
Fit (rail / inseam / height)Users up to 6 ft 8 in54-in rail; inseam up to 38 in52.6-in rail; users up to 6 ft 9 in50-in rail; users up to 6 ft 3 in
Length × width (in use)84 × 27 in96 × 24 in91.3 × 22 in95 × 24 in
StorageStands uprightSeparates in twoFolds and stands uprightFolds and stands upright, about 32.7 × 28.7 in of floor
Monitor and metrics22-in touchscreen; time, distance, strokes, calories, heart rateTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, watts, heart rateTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split, heart rateTime, distance, strokes, calories, stroke rate
Warranty10 years frame, 1 year parts5 years frame, 2 years parts3 years frame, 6 months parts2 years frame, 2 years parts
Check PriceCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on Amazon

Alternatives to the Aviron Strong Series

Best data, no plan: Choose the Concept2 RowErg if you train by numbers. It shows the 500 m split, watts and stroke rate, has a 54-inch rail, a 500-lb rating and no subscription, and it separates in two to store. It ranks #1 in our best air rowing machine guide.

Folds, lighter: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness Air Magnetic Rower if you want the same air and magnetic mix with 16 levels, a 500 m split on the monitor, a 52.6-inch rail and a frame that folds and stands upright. It is rated for 300 lb.

Heavy rating, folds: Choose the GMWD Air Rowing Machine if you want a 500-lb rating and a 50-inch rail in a 72-lb frame that folds and stands upright, without a built-in screen.

Final Verdict

The Aviron Strong Series is the rower to check if you are tall or heavy and want a big screen built in. Its 507-lb rating, 6 ft 8 in fit, adjustable foot carriage and 10-year frame warranty set it apart. The trade-offs are the missing pace data, a 114-lb frame and interactive content that needs a membership. If you want split times without any plan, the Concept2 RowErg is the closer fit; if you want a screen-led rower with magnetic resistance only, read our Hydrow Wave review.

Aviron Strong Series FAQ

No. The Amazon listing calls the membership optional but highly recommended for interactive content. Games, races, scenic rows, classes, streaming and the community come with it. The listing does not detail what the screen shows without a plan, so check the current terms before you order.

The maximum user weight is 507 lb, according to the Amazon listing. The rower itself weighs 114 lb. It ranks #3 in our best rowing machine for heavy people guide.

Aviron lists users up to 6 ft 8 in. The listing does not give the rail length or the maximum inseam, so if you are near that height, check your inseam against the rail when the rower arrives.

Both. It combines air and magnetic resistance, rated at up to 100 lb. The listing does not state a number of resistance levels.

It does not fold. It stands upright on its end without a wall mount, per the listing. The stored dimensions are not given, and at 114 lb it is heavy to tilt.

The listing gives a 10-year warranty on the frame and a 1-year limited warranty on parts. Labor coverage is not stated.

This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.