
The best rowing machine with screen is the Aviron Strong Series Rower (FitScore 77.4/100): a 22-inch touchscreen, air plus magnetic resistance, a 507 lb user limit, room for users up to 6 ft 8 in and a 10-year frame warranty. Its listing calls the membership optional, while the Hydrow Origin and NordicTrack RW700 listings tie their connected content to a paid plan.
A smart rowing machine puts classes, games or a scenic row in front of you, so the session has a guide and a goal. The screen is also where the trade-offs hide. On some rowers it is a console you own outright; on others it becomes a much smaller tool once the trial membership ends.
This guide explains what each screen does with and without a plan, which screen size and angle suit your room, and how we weighted the FitScore for a buyer who wants a rowing machine with screen. Five rowers with a built-in screen made the list. If you would rather avoid a membership entirely, start with our rowing machine without subscription ranking.
Comparison Table
| Compareat a glance | TOP PICK![]() | Pick 2![]() | Pick 3![]() | Pick 4![]() | Pick 5![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best For | Best Overall | Best for Tall Rowers | Best Rotating Screen | Best Parts Warranty | Best for Guided Rows |
| Resistance | Air + Magnetic | Air, 10 levels | Magnetic, 32 levels | Magnetic, 26 levels | Electromagnetic |
| Max User Weight | 507 lb | 440 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 375 lb |
| Length in Use | 84 in | 95 in | 81 in | 81.3 in | 86 in |
| Fit | Users up to 6 ft 8 in | 53.5-in rail | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Storage | Stands upright | Folds and stands upright | Folds | Not stated | Stands upright |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Key Takeaways
- Best Overall: Aviron Strong Series Rower The Aviron pairs the largest screen here, a 22-inch touchscreen, with the strongest frame: a 507 lb limit, an alloy steel build and a 10-year frame warranty.
- Best for Tall Rowers: Merach NovaRow R50 Aura Air Rower with 15.6-inch Screen The NovaRow R50 Aura fits the tallest users here, 210 cm (82.7 in), on a 53.5-inch rail.
- Best Rotating Screen: Echelon Row S The Row S has a 22-inch screen that rotates for workouts off the rower, plus 32 magnetic levels you can change from Bluetooth controls on the handlebar.
- Best Parts Warranty: NordicTrack RW700 Rower The RW700 carries the most complete warranty here: 10 years on the frame, 2 on parts and 1 on labor, for a Durability score of 79.
- Best for Guided Rows: Hydrow Origin Rower The Hydrow Origin shares the largest screen size here, a 22-inch touchscreen with front-facing speakers, over quiet electromagnetic drag.
- The Aviron Strong Series Rower is the best rowing machine with screen (FitScore 77.4), with an optional membership.
- Hydrow Origin and NordicTrack RW700 listings tie their connected features to a paid plan.
- Echelon says its membership is required; the Merach listing does not state what works without one.
- Features count for 25% here, so screen, apps and heart rate weigh heavily.
- Only the Merach mirrors your phone or tablet on its screen.
The 5 Best Rowing Machines With Screen
All five have a built-in screen. The Aviron leads by 13.4 points; the Merach is a clear second, and the last three sit within 2 points of each other, so the membership terms and your room can decide between them.
Best Overall: Aviron Strong Series Rower
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines With Screen
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Aviron Strong Series review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
The Aviron pairs the largest screen here, a 22-inch touchscreen, with the strongest frame: a 507 lb limit, an alloy steel build and a 10-year frame warranty. It fits users up to 6 ft 8 in, which earns a Comfort score of 95, and its air plus magnetic resistance feeds a monitor that lists heart rate. Bluetooth links headphones, speakers and a heart rate strap. The membership is optional but recommended for the games and streaming. The limits: at 114 lb and 27 inches wide it is bulky, parts carry 1 year, and the listing does not state transport wheels.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Intervals with a set base load
- Classes on the 22-in screen
- Users up to 507 lb
For
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Heavier users (up to 507 lb)
- Tall rowers (users up to 6 ft 8 in)
Not For
- Quiet early or late sessions
- Rooms under 9 ft long
- Training by split or watts
Key Specs
- Resistance: Air + Magnetic
- Max user weight: 507 lb
- Length in use: 84 in
- Fit: Users up to 6 ft 8 in
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- Users up to 6 ft 8 in
- 10-year frame warranty
- Air and magnetic resistance
Cons
- Fan noise
- 84 in long in use
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Best for Tall Rowers: Merach NovaRow R50 Aura Air Rower with 15.6-inch Screen
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines With Screen
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
The NovaRow R50 Aura fits the tallest users here, 210 cm (82.7 in), on a 53.5-inch rail. Its 15.6-inch 1080p screen tilts 60 degrees and mirrors your phone or tablet, wired or wireless, and 10 air levels set the load. It folds into two sections and stands upright. The listing states a 440 lb limit in its bullets and technical details (one product image shows 158 kg). It states no monitor metrics and no membership terms, carries 1 year of warranty and has only a few ratings so far.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Intervals and sprint pieces
- Classes on the 15.6-in screen
- Users up to 440 lb
For
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Heavier users (up to 440 lb)
- Tall rowers (53.5-in rail)
Not For
- Quiet early or late sessions
- Rooms under 10 ft long
- Training by split or watts
Key Specs
- Resistance: Air, 10 levels
- Max user weight: 440 lb
- Length in use: 95 in
- Fit: 53.5-in rail
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- 53.5-in rail
- 10 air levels
- 440-lb user rating
Cons
- Fan noise
- No heart rate listed
- 95 in long in use
Best Rotating Screen: Echelon Row S
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines With Screen
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
Read our full Echelon Row S review for specs, owner feedback and alternatives.
The Row S has a 22-inch screen that rotates for workouts off the rower, plus 32 magnetic levels you can change from Bluetooth controls on the handlebar. Magnetic resistance earns full marks on Noise, and it folds and rolls on wheels. The listing includes a 30-day membership; Echelon’s manual and site say a membership is required, which lowers its Affordability score. Neither Amazon nor Echelon states the rail length, user height or heart rate, and the listing gives two capacities, 300 and 350 lb; we keep 300. Amazon reviewers praise the build, though some report the resistance acting up or the machine freezing.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 32 quiet levels
- Classes on the 22-in screen
- Users up to 300 lb
For
- Folding it away between sessions
- Homes with shared walls
- Screen-led workouts
Not For
- Use without a membership
- Rooms under 9 ft long
- Very tall rowers (fit not stated)
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 32 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Length in use: 81 in
- Fit: Not stated
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- 32 quiet magnetic levels
- Folds away, with wheels
- 22-in built-in screen
Cons
- Membership required for classes
- Fit not stated
- 1-year frame warranty
Best Parts Warranty: NordicTrack RW700 Rower
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines With Screen
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
The RW700 carries the most complete warranty here: 10 years on the frame, 2 on parts and 1 on labor, for a Durability score of 79. It offers 26 digital magnetic levels with resistance shortcuts on a tilting 10-inch touchscreen, and rolls on wheels. The limits: the screen is the smallest of the five, the listing names only distance among its metrics, and iFIT content, streaming, SmartAdjust and app sync need an iFIT Pro membership. Its listing states no storage option, and it is rated for 300 lb.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady cardio on 26 quiet levels
- Classes on the 10-in screen
- Users up to 300 lb
For
- Homes with shared walls
- Long frame coverage
- Screen-led workouts
Not For
- Use without a membership
- Rooms under 9 ft long
- Very tall rowers (fit not stated)
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 26 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Length in use: 81.3 in
- Fit: Not stated
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts
Pros
- 26 quiet magnetic levels
- 10-year frame warranty
- 10-in built-in screen
Cons
- Membership required for classes
- Fit not stated
- No storage mode listed
Best for Guided Rows: Hydrow Origin Rower
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Rowing Machines With Screen
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines seven category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Rowing Machine
The Hydrow Origin shares the largest screen size here, a 22-inch touchscreen with front-facing speakers, over quiet electromagnetic drag. It pairs by Bluetooth with heart rate monitors and headphones, rates 375 lb and stands upright, and its Features score of 80 ties the Aviron. The catch is on the listing: the touchscreen, stats and workout library require an active membership after the 30-day trial, so without one you row with no connected features. It is also the heaviest pick at 145 lb, with 1 year of warranty and no rail length or user height stated. Owners find it easy to set up and gentle on the knees.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Coached sessions with quiet drag
- Classes on the 22-in screen
- Users up to 375 lb
For
- Storing it upright in a corner
- Homes with shared walls
- Screen-led workouts
Not For
- Use without a membership
- Rooms under 10 ft long
- Very tall rowers (fit not stated)
Key Specs
- Resistance: Electromagnetic
- Max user weight: 375 lb
- Length in use: 86 in
- Fit: Not stated
- Warranty: 1 yr frame, 1 yr parts
Pros
- Quiet electromagnetic resistance
- 22-in built-in screen
- 375-lb user rating
Cons
- Membership required for classes
- Fit not stated
- No 500 m split or watts listed
Smart Rowing Machine Memberships: What Works Without One
Every rower here ships with a screen, but the listings describe its role very differently. Read the bullets for words like “membership”, “trial” and “required” before you compare screen sizes.
Required. The Hydrow Origin listing says the touchscreen, stats and workout library require an active membership after a 30-day trial; without one you can still row, but without the connected features. The NordicTrack RW700 listing marks iFIT content, streaming, SmartAdjust, AI coaching and app sync as needing an iFIT Pro membership. Optional. Aviron calls its membership optional but recommends it for interactive content, and sells it separately. The Echelon Row S listing only mentions a 30-day membership, so we checked Echelon itself: its manual has you choose a monthly, 1-year or 2-year plan and sign in after assembly, and its site says a Premier membership is required with any Echelon equipment purchase. Not stated. The Merach NovaRow R50 Aura listing mentions the Merach App and screen mirroring but does not state whether any feature needs a membership.
| Rower | Screen | Membership | What the listing says |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aviron Strong Series Rower | 22 in touchscreen | Optional | Recommended for interactive content; sold separately |
| Merach NovaRow R50 Aura | 15.6 in, tilts 60 degrees | Not stated | Merach App; wired and wireless screen mirroring |
| Echelon Row S | 22 in, rotates | Required (per Echelon) | 30-day membership included; Echelon requires a plan after setup |
| NordicTrack RW700 Rower | 10 in, tilts | Required | iFIT Pro needed for iFIT content, streaming, SmartAdjust and app sync |
| Hydrow Origin Rower | 22 in touchscreen | Required | Touchscreen, stats and library need an active membership after the trial |
Watch out: A trial that renews on its own is still a plan you have to manage. The FTC advises you to read the trial terms, note the end date and know how to cancel before you sign up.
How to Choose the Best Rowing Machine With Screen: Size, Angle and Fit
A bigger screen is easier to follow from the seat, but the angle matters as much. The Echelon screen rotates, so you can face it for floor work off the rower. The Merach tilts 60 degrees and the NordicTrack RW700 tilts as well. The Aviron and Hydrow listings give no tilt or swivel. If you plan to watch your own shows, the Merach is the only pick whose listing describes wired and wireless screen mirroring.
The screen also adds weight up front. These rowers weigh 79 lb (Merach) to 145 lb (Hydrow Origin), against 57.3 lb for a Concept2 RowErg with no screen. Lengths in use run from 81 inches (Echelon) to 95 inches (Merach), and widths from 24 inches (Merach and Echelon) to 27 inches (Aviron). For tall rowers, only two listings state a height: users up to 6 ft 8 in on the Aviron, and 210 cm (82.7 in) on a 53.5-inch rail for the Merach. Capacity ranges from 300 lb (Echelon, NordicTrack) to 507 lb (Aviron). If height is your main constraint, compare our rowing machine for tall people picks.
- Largest screens: Aviron, Echelon and Hydrow Origin, 22 inches each.
- Screen mirroring: Merach only, wired or wireless.
- Heart rate on the listing: Aviron and Hydrow Origin. The Merach, Echelon and NordicTrack listings do not state it.
- Folding: Echelon folds; the Merach folds into two sections and stands upright (55.7 x 22.4 x 12.6 in folded).
- Device holder: Aviron and Merach. The Echelon and Hydrow have none, and the NordicTrack listing does not say.
Is There a Rowing Machine Like Peloton?
Buyers who search for a rowing machine like Peloton usually want the same format: a large screen, instructor-led classes and a leaderboard or score. On this list, the Hydrow Origin, the NordicTrack RW700 and the Echelon Row S follow that model, with classes or iFIT content behind a membership or a trial. The Aviron mixes games and streaming, with the membership optional. The Merach takes a different route: a screen for your own app or video.
Classes help many people keep a routine, and the routine is what counts. The CDC adult activity guidelines call for 150 minutes of moderate activity a week, or 75 minutes of vigorous activity. With or without an instructor, the American Heart Association talk test is an easy check of effort: at moderate intensity, you can still hold a conversation.
Rowing Machines With Screen Compared
Values come from each Amazon US listing. “Not stated” means the listing leaves it out.
| Rowing machine | Resistance | Max user weight | Rail / fit | Footprint (L x W, in) | Storage | Monitor / app | FitScore |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aviron Strong Series Rower | Air + magnetic | 507 lb | Users up to 6 ft 8 in | 84 x 27 | Stands upright | 22 in touchscreen, heart rate; Aviron app, membership optional | 77.4 |
| Merach NovaRow R50 Aura Air Rower with 15.6-inch Screen | Air, 10 levels | 440 lb (one listing image shows 158 kg) | 53.5 in rail, users up to 82.7 in | 95 x 24 | Folds and stands upright | 15.6 in screen with mirroring; Merach App, membership not stated | 64.0 |
| Echelon Row S | Magnetic, 32 levels | 300 lb | Not stated | 81 x 24 | Folds | 22 in rotating screen; Echelon, membership required (per Echelon) | 58.9 |
| NordicTrack RW700 Rower | Magnetic, 26 levels | 300 lb | Not stated | 81.3 x 24.8 | Not stated | 10 in tilting touchscreen; iFIT, membership required | 58.1 |
| Hydrow Origin Rower | Electromagnetic | 375 lb | Not stated | 86 x 25 | Stands upright | 22 in touchscreen, heart rate; Hydrow, membership required | 57.7 |
Checklist Before You Buy a Rowing Machine With Screen
7 checks
Tap a number to check off that step.
- 01
Search the listing for “membership”, “trial” and “required”.
- 02
Find out what the screen and stats do once a trial ends.
- 03
Check the screen size and whether it tilts or rotates.
- 04
Confirm which metrics the console shows, including heart rate.
- 05
Measure the floor for the length in use and the width.
- 06
Check the max user weight, and pick the lower figure if the listing gives two.
- 07
Compare the frame and parts warranty, since the screen adds electronics.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1Comparing screen sizes before reading the membership terms.
Mistake 2Assuming a 30-day trial means the screen keeps working afterward.
Mistake 3Forgetting that a rower with a screen is heavier to move and store.
Mistake 4Trusting the higher capacity when the listing states two different figures.
Mistake 5Choosing a class-led rower when you mostly want to watch your own shows.
How We Selected the Best Rowing Machine with Screen
Only rowers with a built-in screen were eligible: the listing must state a screen size. A phone or tablet holder alone did not qualify. Each pick also had to be a seated rower, in stock on Amazon US with a buy box, and we kept at most two models per brand.
The weights favor what the screen brings. Features leads at 25% because the screen, apps, Bluetooth and heart rate are why you buy this kind of rower. A required membership lowers Affordability, which counts for only 5% here. Specs come from the Amazon US listing (manufacturer page only when the listing is silent); a value the listing does not state scores zero. That is why the Merach, whose listing gives no monitor metrics, scores 55 on Features. How we score covers the full method.
| Category | Weight | What it measures for this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 20% | Resistance system and range, plus the metrics the console reports |
| Durability | 20% | Max user weight, frame and parts warranty, stated frame material |
| Comfort | 15% | Fit for your height (rail, inseam or tallest user stated) and stroke smoothness |
| Practicality | 10% | Folding or upright storage, length in use, machine weight, transport wheels |
| Features | 25% | Screen, Bluetooth, named apps, heart rate, device holder, programs, number of metrics |
| Affordability | 5% | An internal list-price tier, never shown; a required membership lowers it |
| Noise | 5% | Sound of the resistance system, from magnetic (quietest) to air (loudest) |
Decision Shortcuts
Start with how you want to use the screen, then check the membership terms and your floor space.
Best Overall: You want a big screen, a strong frame and no required plan: choose Aviron Strong Series Rower.
Best for Tall Rowers: You are very tall, or you want to watch your own video: choose Merach NovaRow R50 Aura, within its 440 lb rating.
Best Rotating Screen: You row in a shared room and want quiet, folding storage and a screen for floor work: choose Echelon Row S, if you plan to keep an Echelon membership.
Best Parts Warranty: You already use iFIT and value a long warranty: choose NordicTrack RW700 Rower.
Best for Guided Rows: You want instructor-led rowing every session and plan to keep the membership: choose Hydrow Origin Rower.
Final Verdict
Aviron Strong Series Rower is our first choice for most people shopping for a rowing machine with screen. Screens on these five rowers run from 10 inches (NordicTrack RW700) to 22 inches (Aviron, Echelon and Hydrow Origin). Membership required: Hydrow Origin, NordicTrack RW700 and Echelon (per Echelon, since the Amazon listing is silent). Optional: Aviron. Not stated: Merach. Hydrow says the touchscreen, stats and library need an active membership after the 30-day trial; you can still row without one. The Merach screen mirrors a phone or tablet, wired or wireless, so you can watch your own video. The Aviron leads on fit and frame: 507 lb, users up to 6 ft 8 in, 10 years on the frame.
For most buyers, Aviron Strong Series Rower is the best rowing machine with screen we would check first, after confirming its current price and availability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Partly. The Hydrow Origin listing says the touchscreen, stats and workout library require an active membership after the 30-day trial. Without one you can still row, but without the connected features, so the screen is no longer the console you bought. If you want a screen that is yours outright, check the Aviron, whose membership is optional.
On our FitScore for this intent, the Aviron Strong Series Rower leads at 77.4. It combines a 22-inch touchscreen with air plus magnetic resistance, a 507 lb limit, room for users up to 6 ft 8 in and a 10-year frame warranty. Its membership is optional, though Aviron recommends it for interactive content.
Yes. Several rowers use the same format of a large screen and instructor-led classes. Here, the Hydrow Origin, NordicTrack RW700 and Echelon Row S need a membership for that content (Echelon states it on its own site, not on the Amazon listing). The Aviron offers games and streaming with an optional membership.
Plan on keeping one. The Amazon listing only says a 30-day membership is included. Echelon’s own manual has you choose a monthly, 1-year or 2-year plan and sign in after assembly, and its site says a Premier membership is required with any Echelon equipment purchase. If you want a screen rower without a plan, look at the Aviron, whose membership is optional.
On this list, the Merach NovaRow R50 Aura listing describes wired and wireless screen mirroring, so you can show video from your own device on its 15.6-inch screen. The NordicTrack RW700 lists streaming, but only with an iFIT Pro membership.
Not by itself. The workout comes from the rowing; a screen can make it easier to keep a routine. The CDC guidelines set the weekly target at 150 minutes of moderate activity or 75 of vigorous activity, plus strength work on 2 days.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.











