
Best Upright Exercise Bike: Our top upright exercise bike is the Schwinn 190 (FitScore 53/100): magnetic, 25 levels resistance, a 330 lb rating and a 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts warranty.
Five upright bikes ranked by FitScore; want to stand on the pedals or lean back? See our best spin bikes or best recumbent bikes.
Comparison Table
| Compareat a glance | TOP PICK![]() | Pick 2![]() | Pick 3![]() | Pick 4![]() | Pick 5![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best For | Best Overall | Best Compact | Best for App Users | Simplest | Fewest Stated Specs |
| Type | Upright | Upright | Upright | Upright | Upright |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 25 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 8 levels | Not stated |
| Max User Weight | 330 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 242.5 lb | 250 lb |
| Footprint | 47 x 32.3 in | 41.3 x 21.4 in | 40.9 x 22.4 in | 35 x 17.5 in | 46.8 x 22.6 in |
| Flywheel | Not stated | Not stated | 7 lb | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Key Takeaways
- Durability and rider limit carry the most weight in this guide.
- Only five uprights qualified: check the specs the last pick leaves out.
- Every pick rides without a paid membership.
The 5 Best Upright Exercise Bikes
Ranked by FitScore with the weights above. Specs are those of each Amazon US listing, completed from the manufacturer’s page for the same model only where the listing is silent; a value neither gives scores zero and is marked “Not stated”.
Best Overall: Schwinn 190
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Upright Exercise Bikes
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines six category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Upright Exercise Bike
Magnetic, 25 levels resistance, 13 programs and Bluetooth, rated for 330 lb, with a 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts warranty. It is 47 in long and 84 lb; the listing does not state the flywheel weight or a rider height range.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady seated rides, road-bike posture
- Following 13 built-in programs
- Rides tracked in a free companion app
For
- Fine resistance steps (25 levels)
- Riders up to 330 lb
Not For
- Comparing flywheel weight (not stated)
- Riders above 330 lb
- Rolling it between rooms (no wheels listed)
Key Specs
- Type: Upright
- Resistance: Magnetic, 25 levels
- Max user weight: 330 lb
- Footprint: 47 x 32.3 in
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts
Pros
- Rated for 330 lb
- Magnetic, 25 levels resistance
- 13 built-in programs
Cons
- No wheels listed
- Rider height range not stated
- Flywheel weight not stated
Best Compact: Schwinn 130
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Upright Exercise Bikes
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines six category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Upright Exercise Bike
Magnetic, 16 levels resistance, 13 programs and heart-rate grips in a 41.3-in-long frame, rated for 300 lb with a 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts warranty. The flywheel weight is not stated. Owners call it quiet and sturdy for the money; console reliability, seat comfort and the seat adjuster get mixed reviews.
⚖Compared with Our #1 Pick
Next to the Schwinn 190, the Schwinn 130 scores higher on practicality (57 vs 34), with a 41.3 x 21.4 in footprint, 57.2 lb against a 47 x 32.3 in footprint, 84 lb. It trails on comfort (22 vs 36), which carries 20% of the FitScore for the best upright exercise bike. Overall: 52.6 against 53.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady seated rides, road-bike posture
- Following 13 built-in programs
- Rides tracked in a free companion app
For
- Tight floor space (41.3 x 21.4 in)
- Checking pulse on the grips
- Riders up to 300 lb
Not For
- Comparing flywheel weight (not stated)
- Riders above 300 lb
- Rolling it between rooms (no wheels listed)
Key Specs
- Type: Upright
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Footprint: 41.3 x 21.4 in
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts
Pros
- Rated for 300 lb
- 41.3 x 21.4 in footprint
- 13 built-in programs
Cons
- Rider height range not stated
- Flywheel weight not stated
- No wheels listed
Best for App Users: Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART
Presentation
Best for app users
Pick 3
Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Upright Exercise Bikes
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines six category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Upright Exercise Bike
Magnetic, 16 levels resistance, a belt drive, 24 programs and the free SunnyFit app, with transport wheels; rated for 300 lb, 3 yr frame, 6 mo parts warranty.
⚖Compared with Our #1 Pick
Next to the Schwinn 190, the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART scores higher on practicality (72 vs 34), with a 40.9 x 22.4 in footprint, 64.4 lb against a 47 x 32.3 in footprint, 84 lb. It trails on durability (51 vs 77), which carries 25% of the FitScore for the best upright exercise bike. Overall: 48.9 against 53.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady seated rides, road-bike posture
- Following 24 built-in programs
- Rides tracked in a free companion app
For
- Riding with no membership to pay
- Tight floor space (40.9 x 22.4 in)
- Rolling it between rooms
Not For
- Riders above 300 lb
Key Specs
- Type: Upright
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Footprint: 40.9 x 22.4 in
- Warranty: 3 yr frame, 6 mo parts
Pros
- 40.9 x 22.4 in footprint
- 7 lb flywheel
- Rated for 300 lb
Cons
- Rider height range not stated
- Labor warranty not stated
- 300 lb rider limit
Simplest: Marcy ME-708
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Upright Exercise Bikes
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines six category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Upright Exercise Bike
Magnetic, 8 levels resistance; the listing states no app, programs or heart-rate input. A 35-in-long, 41-lb frame rated for 242.5 lb, with a 2 yr (frame and parts) warranty.
⚖Compared with Our #1 Pick
Next to the Schwinn 190, the Marcy ME-708 scores higher on practicality (64 vs 34), with a 35 x 17.5 in footprint, 41 lb against a 47 x 32.3 in footprint, 84 lb. It trails on durability (36 vs 77), which carries 25% of the FitScore for the best upright exercise bike. Overall: 37.8 against 53.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady seated rides, road-bike posture
- Low-impact cardio at home
For
- Tight floor space (35 x 17.5 in)
- Moving it often (41 lb)
- Riders up to 242.5 lb
Not For
- Riders above 242.5 lb
- Comparing flywheel weight (not stated)
- App tracking (no Bluetooth listed)
Key Specs
- Type: Upright
- Resistance: Magnetic, 8 levels
- Max user weight: 242.5 lb
- Footprint: 35 x 17.5 in
- Warranty: 2 yr (frame and parts)
Pros
- 35 x 17.5 in footprint
- Magnetic, 8 levels resistance
- Rated for 242.5 lb
Cons
- No built-in programs listed
- Rider height range not stated
- 242.5 lb rider limit
Fewest Stated Specs: NordicTrack T Series 9 Bike
Presentation
FitGearHQ FitScore
FitScore for Upright Exercise Bikes
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines six category scores using weights defined for this guide.
Why Choose This Upright Exercise Bike
Rated for 250 lb, 46.8 in long, with 16 resistance levels; the listing states neither the resistance type nor a warranty term, so those score zero and it ranks last.
⚖Compared with Our #1 Pick
Next to the Schwinn 190, the NordicTrack T Series 9 Bike scores higher on practicality (36 vs 34), with a 46.8 x 22.6 in footprint, 94.3 lb against a 47 x 32.3 in footprint, 84 lb. It trails on durability (20 vs 77), which carries 25% of the FitScore for the best upright exercise bike. Overall: 25.3 against 53.
In a Nutshell
Best Usage
- Steady seated rides, road-bike posture
- Low-impact cardio at home
For
- Riders up to 250 lb
Not For
- Riders above 250 lb
- Buyers who want a stated warranty
- Comparing flywheel weight (not stated)
Key Specs
- Type: Upright
- Resistance: Not stated
- Max user weight: 250 lb
- Footprint: 46.8 x 22.6 in
- Warranty: Not stated
Pros
- 46.8 x 22.6 in footprint
- Rated for 250 lb
Cons
- No built-in programs listed
- Flywheel weight not stated
- Warranty not stated
What to Compare on an Upright Bike
An upright bike puts the seat above the pedals and keeps your back upright: the ride is seated and steady, so the spec sheet decides comfort and how long it lasts.
- Resistance: magnetic resistance is quiet; more levels give finer steps between easy and hard.
- Rider limit and warranty: a rating with a margin over your weight and a long frame warranty point to a solid frame.
- Console: built-in programs and heart-rate grips or a chest-strap link keep seated rides varied.
- Footprint: uprights are the shortest full-size type; check length and width against your room.
- Steady cardio: CDC guidance for adults is at least 150 minutes of moderate activity a week; seated rides at home make those minutes easy to log.
- Calories: Harvard Health Publishing estimates about 252 calories in 30 minutes of moderate stationary cycling for a 155 lb person.
Pro tip: Not sure an upright fits you? Read recumbent vs upright exercise bike or spin bike vs exercise bike.
Upright Exercise Bikes Compared
Values come from each Amazon US listing, completed from the manufacturer’s page only where the listing is silent. Where neither gives a value, the table says so.
| Exercise bike | Type | Resistance | Flywheel | Max user weight | Footprint | Fit | Warranty | FitScore |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schwinn 190 | Upright | Magnetic, 25 levels | Not stated | 330 lb | 47 x 32.3 in | Not stated | 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts | 53 |
| Schwinn 130 | Upright | Magnetic, 16 levels | Not stated | 300 lb | 41.3 x 21.4 in | Not stated | 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts | 52.6 |
| Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART | Upright | Magnetic, 16 levels | 7 lb | 300 lb | 40.9 x 22.4 in | Not stated | 3 yr frame, 6 mo parts | 48.9 |
| Marcy ME-708 | Upright | Magnetic, 8 levels | Not stated | 242.5 lb | 35 x 17.5 in | Not stated | 2 yr (frame and parts) | 37.8 |
| NordicTrack T Series 9 Bike | Upright | Not stated | Not stated | 250 lb | 46.8 x 22.6 in | Not stated | Not stated | 25.3 |
Checklist Before Buying an Upright Exercise Bike
6 checks
Tap a number to check off that step.
- 01
Check the max user weight with a margin.
- 02
Read the frame and parts warranty, not only “lifetime support”.
- 03
Prefer magnetic resistance for a quiet room.
- 04
Measure length and width, plus room to get on.
- 05
Check the seat adjustment range against every rider.
- 06
Decide whether you need programs or an app.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1Setting the seat too low.
Mistake 2Buying an upright when you need back support.
Mistake 3Choosing by screen instead of resistance and rider limit.
Mistake 4Forgetting a mat for sweat and floor protection.
Mistake 5Ignoring the labor warranty.
How We Selected the Best Upright Exercise Bike
Durability leads at 25 points, then Performance and Comfort at 20 each and Features at 15 (programs, heart rate, app). An upright is bought for steady seated cardio over years, so the frame and the console count more than on a spin bike.
Only non-folding upright bikes qualify; a brand holds at most two places. 5 bikes sold on Amazon US passed. Specs come from each listing; a figure the listing does not give scores zero.
| Category | Weight | What it measures for this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Durability | 25 | Max user weight and the frame, parts and labor warranty |
| Performance | 20 | Resistance type (electromagnetic, magnetic, air, friction), how many levels, and flywheel weight |
| Comfort | 20 | Riding position (recumbent, upright, spin), the rider height range it fits and handlebar adjustment |
| Features | 15 | Built-in programs, heart-rate input and app support |
| Practicality | 10 | Footprint, unit weight, folding and transport wheels |
| Affordability | 10 | An internal Amazon price tier, never shown on the page |
Decision Shortcuts
Choose on rider limit and warranty first, then on the console.
Best Overall: You want the sturdiest upright: choose Schwinn 190, rated for 330 lb.
Best Compact: You want a short frame with the same warranty: choose Schwinn 130, 41.3 in long.
Best for App Users: You ride with an app: choose Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART, with SunnyFit and 24 programs.
Simplest: You want the simplest bike: choose Marcy ME-708, at 41 lb.
Fewest Stated Specs: You need fewer unknowns: choose prefer the first four; the NordicTrack T Series 9 Bike states the fewest specs.
Final Verdict
Schwinn 190 is our first choice for most people shopping for a upright exercise bike. Only 5 non-folding upright bikes sold on Amazon US qualified, so this list has exactly five. Durability carries 25% of the score: rider limit and warranty. Folding X-bikes have their own guide; spin and recumbent bikes too. Prices are never shown: price only counts through an internal tier.
For most buyers, Schwinn 190 is the best upright exercise bike we would check first, after confirming its current price and availability.
Frequently Asked Questions
In our ranking, the Schwinn 190 (FitScore 53/100), with magnetic, 25 levels resistance and a 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts warranty.
An upright takes less floor space and feels closer to cycling; a recumbent supports your back and is easier to get on. See recumbent vs upright exercise bike.
An upright is for steady seated rides with a console; a spin bike has a heavier flywheel and lets you stand on the pedals for intervals.
Yes for most people: it is low impact and easy to dose. Harvard Health Publishing estimates about 210 to 294 calories in 30 minutes of moderate stationary cycling for people of 125 to 185 lb.
Not these five: apps are optional or free, and every bike rides without a paid membership.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.
















