
This Schwinn 411 review covers a compact elliptical with an 18-inch stride, 16 magnetic levels and 13 programs.
The Schwinn 411 ranks #1 in our best elliptical under $1,000 guide and makes the top 5 of 3 more.
Schwinn 411 Review: The Short Answer
Our verdict
FitScore 54.7/100
Schwinn 411
Buy it if you want a real stride, plenty of programs and a long frame warranty in a small footprint. Skip it if you want an incline, a foldable frame or a bigger user rating.
- Compact (standing), 18 in stride
- Rated for 300 lb, 53.8 x 24 in footprint
- 100 lb
Best Usage
- Full-body cardio in a small room
- Following 13 built-in programs
- Arms and legs working together
Best For
- Checking pulse on the grips
- Tracking workouts over Bluetooth
- Users up to 300 lb
Not For
- Comparing step-on height (not stated)
- Comparing flywheel weight (not stated)
- Users above 300 lb
Key Specs
- Type: Compact (standing)
- Stride: 18 in
- Resistance: Magnetic, 16 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Footprint: 53.8 x 24 in
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts
Pros
- Rated for 300 lb
- 13 built-in programs
- Moving handlebars
Cons
- No wheels listed
- Step-on height not stated
- 300 lb user limit
Schwinn 411 Specs at a Glance
| Spec | Schwinn 411 | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Compact (standing) | A compact standing elliptical with a shorter frame than a full-size trainer. |
| Stride length | 18 in | A stride longer than many compact machines, though tall users may want more. |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic resistance in sixteen levels; the first setting can still feel firm for beginners. |
| Flywheel | Not stated | The listing does not state the flywheel weight. |
| Incline | No incline | No incline: the ramp stays fixed. |
| Step-on height | Not stated | The listing states no step-on height; the maker lists about 17 inches, which is a short step. |
| Max user weight | 300 lb | A fair rating for most adults. |
| Size (length × width) | 53.8 × 24 in | A compact footprint that fits a bedroom corner or a small den. |
| Product weight | 100 lb | Heavy enough to be steady, though not a one-hand carry. |
| Handlebars | Moving handlebars (arms work) | Moving handlebars, so your arms join the stride. |
| Console and programs | 13 programs | A small LCD with a stated 13 programs. |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth | Bluetooth links the console to ride apps. |
| Heart rate | Pulse grips | Pulse grips on the handles; a wireless chest strap is compatible but sold separately. |
| Membership | Optional (extra classes) | Optional: the machine works without any paid plan. |
| Storage and moving | No transport wheels listed, 100 lb | No fold, so choose a permanent spot. |
| Warranty | 10 year frame, 2 year parts | Ten years on the frame, two on parts and a short labor term. |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Values come from the Schwinn 411 Amazon US listing (checked November 2026), completed from the maker’s page for the same model only where the listing is silent. Neither states the flywheel or the step-on height, so they score zero in FitScore and are marked “Not stated” where shown.
Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the Schwinn 411 and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists elliptical recalls and the fix offered.
The CDC recommends that adults get at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic activity a week, which steady elliptical sessions count toward. Harvard Health Publishing lists about 324 calories in 30 minutes of general elliptical exercise for a 155 lb person.
Schwinn 411 FitScore
FitScore rates each elliptical on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). This review uses the weights of our best compact elliptical guide, where the Schwinn 411 ranks #1 with the same score. Practicality (35%) counts most, then performance (20%), durability and comfort (15% each), affordability (10%) and features (5%). A compact buyer weighs practicality most, then performance and durability.
FitScore for Small Spaces
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines 6 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.
- Durability (74.6): rated for 300 lb, warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts and a 100 lb frame.
- Features (65): 13 programs, Bluetooth, an optional membership and pulse grips.
- Comfort (54): compact (standing) design, step-on height not stated, moving handlebars (arms work) and a 18 in stride.
- Performance (47): a 18 in stride, magnetic resistance in 16 levels, flywheel weight not stated and no incline.
- Practicality (45): 53.8 x 24 in footprint, 100 lb, does not fold and no transport wheels listed.
- Affordability (70): an internal Amazon price tier, never shown on the page.
Design and Stride
The Schwinn 411 is 53.8 inches long and 24 inches wide, with an 18 inch stride. Reviewers rate the ride as smooth and comfortable for a machine at this size.
One independent review notes the steel frame feels sturdy and has levelers for uneven floors, though it can wobble under heavier users or hard sessions.
Bottom line: a real stride in a small footprint; level the feet.
Resistance and Programs
Sixteen magnetic levels and 13 programs give plenty of variety for steady sessions and intervals. A reviewer notes the first level can feel strong, which matters for beginners.
Bottom line: good variety; the first level is firm.
Console and Setup
The small LCD shows the usual ride numbers and works with a tablet holder; Bluetooth links to ride apps. A heart-rate strap is not included.
Assembly takes roughly an hour according to one review, and a few parts are fiddly.
Another review calls it easy to use and compact.
Bottom line: simple to use; plan an hour to build.
Build and Warranty
The frame is rated for users up to 300 lb and the machine weighs 100 lb. Schwinn gives ten years on the frame and two on parts.
Bottom line: long frame cover for the price.
Schwinn 411 vs Rivals
Here is how the Schwinn 411 compares with three other ellipticals from our best compact elliptical guide, using the same FitScore weights.
| Comparehead to head | THIS REVIEW![]() | Alternative 1![]() | Alternative 2![]() | Alternative 3![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Compact (standing) | Compact (standing) | Standing | Standing |
| Stride length | 18 in | 11 in | 18 in | 16 in |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 8 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels |
| Max user weight | 300 lb | 220 lb | 400 lb | 400 lb |
| Size (length × width) | 53.8 × 24 in | 40.7 × 26.4 in | 58 × 24 in | 42 × 21 in |
| Warranty | 10 year frame, 2 year parts | 1 year frame, 6 months parts | 5 year (frame and parts) | 1 year (frame and parts) |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Alternatives to the Schwinn 411
Smaller footprint: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-E905SMART if you want a machine 40.7 in long against 53.8 in and a 62.7 lb frame against 100 lb. It ranks #2 in our best compact elliptical guide.
Higher weight rating: Choose the JOROTO JE50 if you want a 400 lb rating against 300 lb and a 11 lb flywheel. It ranks #3 in our best compact elliptical guide.
Heavier flywheel: Choose the Niceday CT11 (16 in) if you want a 16 lb flywheel. It ranks #4 in our best compact elliptical guide.
Final Verdict
The Schwinn 411 is a compact elliptical with an 18-inch stride, 13 programs and ten years on the frame. Its stride and programs are the draw; the trade-offs are no incline and a 300-lb rating. If you would rather have a machine 40.7 in long against 53.8 in, the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-E905SMART is the closer fit.
Schwinn 411 FAQ
It ranks in 4 of our elliptical guides: #1 in best elliptical under $1,000, #1 in best compact elliptical, #3 in best elliptical for weight loss, #3 in best elliptical for home. With the weights of our best compact elliptical guide it scores 54.7 out of 100, with performance 47, durability 74.6, comfort 54, practicality 45, features 65.
The Amazon US listing rates it for users up to 300 lb. The machine itself weighs 100 lb.
The listing gives a 18 in stride.
About 53.8 by 24 inches of floor space, per the listing; leave room around it to get on and off.
Yes. It takes about 53.8 by 24 inches of floor space and keeps an 18 inch stride, though it does not fold.
No. The ramp is fixed; add effort with the 16 resistance levels instead.
No. It has pulse grips and works with a wireless chest strap that is sold separately.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.










