
This Schwinn 190 review covers an upright bike with 25 magnetic levels, 13 programs and a 330-lb rating.
The Schwinn 190 ranks #1 in our best upright exercise bike guide.
Schwinn 190 Review: The Short Answer
Our verdict
FitScore 54/100
Schwinn 190
Buy it if you want a road-bike posture, a long frame warranty and a console with programs and Bluetooth. Skip it if you want to avoid a subscription for the full app, or need a stated flywheel weight.
- Upright, magnetic, 25 levels
- Rated for 330 lb, 47 x 32.3 in footprint
- 84 lb
Best Usage
- Steady seated rides, road-bike posture
- Following 13 built-in programs
- Rides tracked in a free companion app
Best For
- Fine resistance steps (25 levels)
- Riders up to 330 lb
Not For
- Comparing flywheel weight (not stated)
- Riders above 330 lb
- Rolling it between rooms (no wheels listed)
Key Specs
- Type: Upright
- Resistance: Magnetic, 25 levels
- Max user weight: 330 lb
- Footprint: 47 x 32.3 in
- Warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts
Pros
- Rated for 330 lb
- Magnetic, 25 levels resistance
- 13 built-in programs
Cons
- No wheels listed
- Rider height range not stated
- Flywheel weight not stated
Schwinn 190 Specs at a Glance
| Spec | Schwinn 190 | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Upright | An upright bike: the seat sits above the pedals, like a road bike. |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 25 levels | Magnetic resistance in fine steps, set from the console. |
| Flywheel | Not stated | The listing does not state the flywheel weight. |
| Max user weight | 330 lb | A strong rating for an upright, with room for heavier riders. |
| Size (length × width) | 47 × 32.3 in | A compact upright that suits a spare room or corner. |
| Product weight | 84 lb | Stable but without wheels, so it stays where you build it. |
| Rider fit | Not stated | The listing gives no rider height or inseam range, so check the seat range with Schwinn before you order. |
| Seat and handlebar | 2-way handlebar | The handlebar adjusts two ways; the seat is padded and adjustable. |
| Console and programs | 13 programs | A console with a stated 13 programs; an independent review describes a 7 inch LCD. |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth | Bluetooth pairs with several apps; the full JRNY app needs a paid membership after a short trial. |
| Heart rate | Compatible with a chest strap (not included) | Compatible with a heart-rate strap; none is included. |
| Membership | Optional (extra classes) | Optional: the bike rides without a paid plan. |
| Storage and moving | No transport wheels listed, 84 lb | No fold and no transport wheels, so pick a permanent spot. |
| Warranty | 10 year frame, 2 year parts | Ten years on the frame, two on parts, one on electronics and a short labor term. |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Values come from the Schwinn 190 Amazon US listing (checked November 2026), completed from the maker’s page for the same model only where the listing is silent. Neither states the flywheel weight or the user height / inseam range, so they score zero in FitScore and are marked “Not stated” where shown.
Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the Schwinn 190 and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists exercise bike recalls and the fix offered.
The CDC recommends that adults get at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic activity a week, which steady cycling counts toward. Harvard Health Publishing lists about 252 calories in 30 minutes of moderate stationary cycling for a 155 lb person.
Schwinn 190 FitScore
FitScore rates each exercise bike on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). This review uses the weights of our best upright exercise bike guide, where the Schwinn 190 ranks #1 with the same score. Durability (25%) counts most, then performance and comfort (20% each), features (15%) and practicality and affordability (10% each). An upright buyer wants durability and comfort, with a console that adds variety.
FitScore for Upright Riders
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines 6 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.
- Durability (81): rated for 330 lb, warranty: 10 yr frame, 2 yr parts and a 84 lb frame.
- Performance (52): magnetic resistance, 25 levels and flywheel weight not stated.
- Features (46): 13 programs, Bluetooth, an optional membership and heart-rate strap compatibility only.
- Comfort (36): upright position, rider height range not stated, 2-way handlebar and no backrest.
- Practicality (34): 47 x 32.3 in footprint, 84 lb, does not fold and no transport wheels listed.
- Affordability (58): an internal Amazon price tier, never shown on the page.
Design and Comfort
The Schwinn 190 is 47 inches long and 32.3 inches wide, with a padded, adjustable seat and a two-way handlebar. An independent review likes the seat, but notes the pedals may not suit every foot size.
The reviewer also points out that there is no built-in fan, so a fan in the room helps on longer rides.
Bottom line: a comfortable seat; check the pedals for your feet.
Resistance and Programs
Magnetic resistance has 25 levels and the console carries 13 programs. That gives variety for steady rides and intervals without a flywheel figure on the listing.
Bottom line: plenty of range for a home upright.
App and Subscription
Bluetooth links the bike to several apps. The maker pushes its JRNY app, which includes a short free trial, and an independent review says the full feature set needs a paid plan afterward. The bike itself rides without one.
The reviewer also notes the console screen is smaller than on pricier bikes.
Bottom line: use the console free; pay only if you want the full app.
Build and Warranty
The frame is rated for riders up to 330 lb and weighs 84 lb. Schwinn gives ten years on the frame and two on parts, which is generous for this price tier.
Bottom line: long frame cover and a high rating.
Schwinn 190 vs Rivals
Here is how the Schwinn 190 compares with three other exercise bikes from our best upright exercise bike guide, using the same FitScore weights.
| Comparehead to head | THIS REVIEW![]() | Alternative 1![]() | Alternative 2![]() | Alternative 3![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Upright | Upright | Upright | Folding upright |
| Resistance | Magnetic, 25 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 16 levels | Magnetic, 14 levels |
| Flywheel | Not stated | 7 lb | Not stated | Not stated |
| Max user weight | 330 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 297 lb |
| Size (length × width) | 47 × 32.3 in | 40.9 × 22.4 in | 41.3 × 21.4 in | 33.5 × 21.7 in |
| Warranty | 10 year frame, 2 year parts | 3 year frame, 6 months parts | 10 year frame, 2 year parts | 3 year frame, 6 months parts |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Alternatives to the Schwinn 190
Smaller footprint: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART if you want a bike 40.9 in long against 47 in and a 64.4 lb frame against 84 lb. It ranks #2 in our best upright exercise bike guide.
Lighter to move: Choose the Schwinn 130 if you want a 57.2 lb frame against 84 lb. It ranks #3 in our best upright exercise bike guide.
Folds away: Choose the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B223011 if you want a frame that folds for storage and transport wheels to roll it between rooms. It ranks #4 in our best upright exercise bike guide.
Final Verdict
The Schwinn 190 is an upright bike with a 330-lb rating, 25 levels, 13 programs and ten years on the frame. Its fine resistance steps and long frame cover are the draw; the trade-offs are a paid tier for the full app and no listed fit range. If you would rather have a bike 40.9 in long against 47 in, the Sunny Health & Fitness SF-B2883SMART is the closer fit.
Schwinn 190 FAQ
It ranks in 1 of our exercise bike guides: #1 in best upright exercise bike. With the weights of our best upright exercise bike guide it scores 54 out of 100, with performance 52, durability 81, comfort 36, practicality 34, features 46.
The Amazon US listing rates it for riders up to 330 lb. The bike itself weighs 84 lb.
No. A paid membership is optional and adds extra classes; you can ride without it.
About 47 by 32.3 inches of floor space, per the listing; add room around it to get on and off.
No. The bike rides without a paid plan; the maker app has a short free trial and a paid tier for its full features.
The listing gives ten years on the frame, two years on parts, one year on electronics and a short labor term.
Yes. It pairs with several apps, and the listing states 13 built-in programs for use without a phone.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.










