
This NordicTrack RW700 rower review starts with the question most buyers have: how much of it depends on iFIT. The RW700 is a magnetic rower with 26 digital resistance levels, a 10-inch HD touchscreen that tilts, and oversized pivoting pedals. It is rated for 300 lb and carries a 10-year frame warranty.
It ranks #5 in our best rowing machine with screen guide. The listing is clear that iFIT classes, automatic resistance and app sync need an iFIT Pro membership, so this review separates what the rower does on its own from what the plan adds, and compares it with other screen rowers.
NordicTrack RW700 Review: The Short Answer
Our verdict
FitScore 55.9/100
NordicTrack RW700
Buy it if you want quiet magnetic rowing with iFIT classes on a tilting screen and the longest frame warranty among the screen rowers we rank. Skip it if you will not pay for iFIT, need a rating above 300 lb or want split and watts data listed up front.
- Magnetic, 26 digital levels
- 10-in tilting HD touchscreen
- 10-year frame warranty
Best Usage
- iFIT rowing classes
- Quiet sessions in shared rooms
- Cross-training off the rower
Best For
- iFIT households
- Rowers up to 300 lb
- Buyers who value frame coverage
Not For
- Rowing without a membership
- Users above 300 lb
- Split and watts training
Key Specs
- Resistance: Magnetic, 26 levels
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Size in use: 81.3 × 24.8 in
- Screen: 10-in tilting HD
- Warranty: 10-yr frame
Pros
- 10-year frame warranty
- 26 quiet magnetic levels
- Tilting 10-inch touchscreen
Cons
- iFIT Pro needed for most features
- Few metrics listed
- Fold and fit not stated
NordicTrack RW700 Specs at a Glance
| Spec | NordicTrack RW700 | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Resistance | Magnetic | A magnetic brake: smooth and quiet, with a set load at each level rather than a fan that reacts to your effort. |
| Resistance levels | 26 levels | Many small steps, changed from preset shortcuts on the touchscreen. |
| Max user weight | 300 lb | Standard for a home rower; heavier users should look at higher-rated models. |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | Not stated on the listing | Neither the rail length nor the tallest user is on the listing, so tall rowers cannot check the fit in advance. |
| Length × width (in use) | 81.3 × 24.8 in | Close to 7 feet long; leave room to step on and off beside it. |
| Storage | Not stated on the listing | The listing does not say it folds or stands upright; plan for the full footprint. |
| Product weight | 107.7 lb | Heavy and stable; wheels at the front help you move it. |
| Monitor and metrics | 10-in touchscreen; distance | The listing names distance among the tracked data, and little else; most data lives in iFIT. |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth; iFIT | Bluetooth for headphones, and iFIT on the touchscreen. |
| Subscription | Required | The listing says iFIT Pro is required for iFIT content, SmartAdjust, AI coaching and app sync. |
| Warranty | 10 years frame, 2 years parts, 1 year labor | Ten years on the frame is the longest among the screen rowers in our guide. |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
Values come from the NordicTrack RW700 (NTRW15125) Amazon US listing (checked November 2026). The listing does not state the rail length, the tallest user, a folding or upright storage position, heart rate support or a full list of metrics, so they are left out.
Before you order, search the CPSC recall database for the NordicTrack RW700 and its brand: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists rowing machine recalls and the fix offered.
The CDC physical activity guidelines for adults recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, and steady rowing sessions count toward it. In a study of 107 adults aged 20 to 74, rowing on an ergometer used more energy than cycling at the same power output.
NordicTrack RW700 FitScore
FitScore rates each rowing machine on its published specs, weighted for one buying intent (how we score). The NordicTrack RW700 ranks #5 in our best rowing machine with screen guide with the same score, so this review uses that guide’s weights. Features count most (26%), then performance and durability (21% each), comfort (16%), practicality (11%) and affordability (5%). A screen rower is bought for the screen and the classes, so display, apps and data weigh most.
FitScore for Rowing Machines With Screen
How this FitScore was calculated
This FitScore combines 6 category scores using the weights of the buying intent above.
- Features (53): a 10-inch tilting touchscreen and iFIT, with heart rate support and a device holder not listed.
- Performance (69): 26 magnetic levels, held back by a short list of monitor metrics.
- Durability (79): a 10-year frame and 2-year parts warranty on a 300-lb frame.
- Comfort (37): a smooth magnetic stroke, but no rail length or user height stated, so the fit part scores zero.
- Practicality (37): wheels, but no stated fold or upright storage, at 81.3 inches long and 107.7 lb.
- Affordability (20): lowered because iFIT Pro is required for most features.
Design and Build Quality
The RW700 sits on an alloy steel frame, 81.3 inches long, 24.8 inches wide and 45.4 inches tall at the screen. At 107.7 lb it is a heavy rower, which keeps it steady on hard strokes, and wheels at the front make it movable.
NordicTrack backs the frame for 10 years, parts for 2 years and labor for 1 year on the Amazon listing. That frame term is the longest among the five rowers in our screen guide.
Bottom line: a heavy steel frame with long frame coverage.
Resistance and Rowing Feel
Resistance is magnetic, with 26 digital levels. Magnetic resistance feels even through the stroke and makes little sound, so the main noise is the seat on the rail. You pick the load; it does not build with effort the way an air or water rower does.
You change levels by tapping preset shortcuts on the touchscreen. The oversized pedals pivot and use adjustable straps, which NordicTrack says also eases the move to off-rower exercises during a class.
Bottom line: smooth, quiet resistance you set on the screen.
Screen and iFIT: What Works Without a Membership
The 10-inch HD touchscreen tilts for a better viewing angle. With iFIT Pro, it plays iFIT rowing and cross-training classes and streams shows, SmartAdjust changes the resistance for you as you train, an AI coach gives guidance, and workouts sync to Strava, Garmin Connect and Apple Health.
The listing marks each of those as requiring iFIT Pro. Without it, plan on the rower and its 26 levels, not on the classes or automatic resistance. If you want a screen you can use with your own apps, look at rowers that mirror a phone or tablet instead.
Bottom line: built around iFIT: budget for the membership.
Monitor Data and Connectivity
Among tracked data the listing names distance and speed, and it does not mention a 500 m split, watts or heart rate support. iFIT shows more during classes, but the listing does not detail it.
Bluetooth is listed for headphones. If pacing by split or watts matters, a rower like the Concept2 RowErg publishes its full monitor data.
Bottom line: light on listed data outside iFIT.
What Owners Report
The Amazon listing has no owner reviews yet. Early reviews on another U.S. retailer’s listing are positive about the iFIT classes, the smooth and quiet stroke, the sturdy build and a seat and pedals that adjust easily. A few mention the required membership, the footprint and a screen they would like larger.
Most of those early reviewers say they received the rower free or discounted, so treat them as first impressions rather than long-term reliability. Test the touchscreen, every level and the pedals during the return window.
Bottom line: positive first impressions, no long-term record yet.
Footprint, Storage and Noise
In use it needs about 81.3 × 24.8 inches of floor, plus room to step on and off. The listing does not say it folds or stands upright, so plan for the full footprint. If space is tight, our best rowing machine for small spaces guide covers rowers that store small.
Magnetic resistance is the quietest type we score, so early or late sessions in a shared home are realistic.
Bottom line: quiet, but plan for the full footprint.
Setup, Warranty and Support
The RW700 is shipped and sold by Amazon.com on this listing, so returns go through Amazon. Warranty service comes from NordicTrack: 10 years on the frame, 2 years on parts and 1 year on labor.
Create the iFIT account during setup if you plan to use it, and run a few classes early so any screen or connection issue shows up while you can still return it.
Bottom line: Amazon returns, NordicTrack coverage.
NordicTrack RW700 vs Rivals
Here is how the NordicTrack RW700 compares with three other rowers from our best rowing machine with screen guide, using the same FitScore weights.
| Comparehead to head | THIS REVIEW![]() | Alternative 1![]() | Alternative 2![]() | Alternative 3![]() |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resistance (type, levels) | Magnetic, 26 levels | Air, 10 levels | Electromagnetic | Magnetic, 32 levels |
| Max user weight | 300 lb | 440 lb | 375 lb | 300 lb |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | Not stated on the listing | 53.5-in rail; users up to 6 ft 11 in | Inseam up to 36 in | Not stated on the listing |
| Length × width (in use) | 81.3 × 24.8 in | 95 × 24 in | 80 × 19 in | 81 × 24 in |
| Storage | Not stated on the listing | Folds and stands upright, about 55.7 × 22.4 in of floor | Stands upright with kit sold separately | Folds |
| Monitor and metrics | 10-in touchscreen; distance | 15.6-in touchscreen; time, distance, calories, stroke rate, 500 m split | 16-in touchscreen; time, distance, strokes, heart rate | 22-in touchscreen; time, distance, calories |
| Warranty | 10 years frame, 2 years parts, 1 year labor | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 1 year frame, 1 year parts |
| Check Price | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Alternatives to the NordicTrack RW700
Screen without a plan: Choose the Merach R50 Aura if you want to row to your own apps: its 15.6-inch screen mirrors a phone or tablet, it is an air rower rated for 440 lb, and it folds upright. It ranks #2 in the screen guide.
Larger rotating screen: Choose the Echelon Row S if you want a 22-inch screen that rotates for floor workouts, 32 magnetic levels and a frame that folds. Echelon requires a membership too.
Class-led compact rowing: Choose the Hydrow Wave if you want a 16-inch touchscreen with rowing classes on electromagnetic resistance, a 19-inch-wide frame, a 375-lb rating and a stated fit up to a 36-inch inseam (Hydrow manual). Its touchscreen, stats and workouts need a Hydrow membership.
Final Verdict
The NordicTrack RW700 is the screen rower to pick if you want iFIT classes, quiet magnetic resistance and a 10-year frame warranty. Its tilting 10-inch screen and SmartAdjust make the most sense for households that will keep iFIT Pro. The trade-offs are a 300-lb rating, little listed data outside iFIT, and no stated fold. If you want a screen without a plan, read our Merach R50 review; for another membership-led rower, read our Echelon Row S review.
NordicTrack RW700 FAQ
For most features, yes. The listing says iFIT Pro is required for iFIT content and streaming, SmartAdjust, AI coaching and syncing with fitness apps. Without it, plan on rowing with the 26 resistance levels.
The Amazon listing gives a 300-lb maximum user weight.
The listing does not say it folds or stores upright. It measures 81.3 × 24.8 × 45.4 inches, weighs 107.7 lb and has wheels to move it.
It has 26 digital magnetic resistance levels, changed with preset shortcuts on the touchscreen.
The listing gives 10 years on the frame, 2 years on parts and 1 year on labor and repairs.
No. The 2025 CPSC recall covers the NordicTrack RW900 console (model NTRW19147); this RW700 listing is model NTRW15125.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.







