
Best water feel
WaterRower Oak S4
FitScore for Home Rowing
- ResistanceWater
- Max user weight700 lb
- Fit (rail / inseam / height)Users up to 6 ft 6 in
- Length × width (in use)82 × 22.25 in
Choose it if you want water feel, a 700-lb rating and no plan to pay for.

Best guided classes
Hydrow Origin
FitScore for Home Rowing
- ResistanceElectromagnetic
- Max user weight375 lb
- Fit (rail / inseam / height)Not stated on the listing
- Length × width (in use)86 × 25 in
Choose it if you want instructor-led classes on a 22-inch touchscreen.
Overall winner for home rowing: WaterRower Oak S4. It leads on performance, comfort, practicality and affordability: a smooth water stroke, a 700-lb rating, a fit for users up to 6 ft 6 in and no membership. The Hydrow Origin is the better fit if guided classes on a large screen are what will keep you rowing, and you plan to keep the membership.
WaterRower Oak S4 wins 3 rounds
Hydrow Origin wins 1 round- =1 tie
Product photos from Amazon. FitScore weights are explained below.
Hydrow vs WaterRower is a choice between two ideas of home rowing. The Hydrow Origin is built around a 22-inch touchscreen and Hydrow’s live and on-demand classes, on electromagnetic resistance that the touchscreen controls. The WaterRower Oak S4 is a solid oak frame around a water tank, with a simple S4 monitor and no plan to pay for.
The Hydrow Origin scores 55.4 in our best rowing machine with screen guide, just outside its top 5, where the smaller Hydrow Wave ranks #3. The WaterRower Oak S4 ranks #3 in our best rowing machine for seniors guide. Both scores below use the neutral weights of our best rowing machine guide. For more detail, read our WaterRower review, and our Hydrow Wave review for the smaller Hydrow.
Head-to-Head Specs
Here are the two rowers side by side, from the Amazon US listings. The WaterRower user height comes from the manufacturer, because the listing is silent. A check mark shows the stronger spec on each line. Before you order either model, search the CPSC recall database: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission lists rowing machine recalls and the fix offered. The CDC physical activity guidelines for adults recommend at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, and steady rowing sessions count toward it. In a study of 107 adults aged 20 to 74, rowing on an ergometer used more energy than cycling at the same power output.
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Resistance | Water | Electromagnetic |
| Max user weight | 700 lb✓ | 375 lb |
| Fit (rail / inseam / height) | Users up to 6 ft 6 in✓ | Not stated on the listing |
| Length × width (in use) | 82 × 22.25 in✓ | 86 × 25 in |
| Storage | Stands upright | Stands upright |
| Product weight | 83.6 lb✓ | 145 lb |
| Monitor and metrics | Time, distance, stroke rate, heart rate | 22-in touchscreen; time, distance, strokes, calories✓ |
| Bluetooth and apps | Bluetooth; WaterRower Connect, CITYROW | Bluetooth; Hydrow |
| Subscription | None required✓ | Required |
| Warranty | 1 year frame, 1 year parts | 1 year frame, 1 year parts |
| Specs won | 5 of 10 | 1 of 10 |
Check Amazon for current pricing and availability.
FitScore Duel
Both scores use the weights of our best rowing machine guide (how we score): performance 28%, durability 22%, comfort 17%, and practicality, features and affordability 11% each (no noise weight). Neither rower is in that guide’s top 5, so the scores simply use the same weights. The WaterRower wins five of the six categories, by a wide margin on comfort (100 to 37), where it states its user height and the Hydrow does not. The Hydrow wins features (80 to 55) with its touchscreen and classes, and scores 0 on affordability because its screen, stats and workouts need a paid membership.
Key Differences
- The Hydrow Origin has a 22-inch touchscreen with live and on-demand classes; the WaterRower Oak S4 has an S4 monitor.
- The Hydrow’s touchscreen, stats and workouts need a Hydrow membership; the WaterRower needs no plan.
- The WaterRower uses water in a tank; the Hydrow uses electromagnetic resistance.
- The WaterRower is rated for 700 lb; the Hydrow for 375 lb.
- The WaterRower is 82 × 22.25 inches and 83.6 lb; the Hydrow is 86 × 25 inches and 145 lb. Both stand upright to store.

Round 1 of 5
Hydrow vs WaterRower: Resistance and Rowing Feel
WaterRower Oak S4 wins this round
The WaterRower turns a paddle in a tank of water, so the pull builds smoothly as you drive harder, with the sound of moving water. Owners praise the natural, gliding stroke and the calming sound.
The Hydrow uses electromagnetic resistance set by the touchscreen and its classes. Owners describe a smooth, quiet row, and several who came from an air rower prefer it. Both are quiet; the water stroke is the one rowers usually call the most natural.
Round 2 of 5
Screen, Classes and Membership
Hydrow Origin wins this round
The Hydrow Origin’s 22-inch touchscreen plays live and on-demand classes led by athlete instructors, and owners say the workouts keep them engaged. The listing is clear that the touchscreen, stats and workout library need an active membership; without one you can still row, without the connected features.
The WaterRower S4 monitor shows time, distance, stroke rate and heart rate, and connects by Bluetooth to WaterRower Connect and CITYROW, with no plan required.
Round 3 of 5
Fit, Capacity and Build
WaterRower Oak S4 wins this round
The WaterRower has a solid oak frame rated for 700 lb, and WaterRower states users up to about 6 ft 6 in on the standard rail. Owners praise the solid real-wood build.
The Hydrow is rated for 375 lb on an aluminum frame, and its listing does not state the rail length or the tallest user, so tall rowers cannot check the fit in advance.
Round 4 of 5
Footprint and Storage
WaterRower Oak S4 wins this round
The WaterRower is about 82 × 22.25 inches in use and 83.6 lb; the Hydrow is 86 × 25 inches and 145 lb. Both stand upright on their ends to store.
The lighter WaterRower is easier to tip up and roll away.
Round 5 of 5
Warranty and Support
Tie. Neither model has a clear edge here.
Amazon lists 1 year of coverage for both rowers. WaterRower states longer terms on its own site; the Amazon terms are the ones we use.
The Hydrow is sold by Amazon.com on this listing, so returns go through Amazon.
Who Should Buy Each
Quiet water rowing, no plan
Choose the WaterRower Oak S4 if you want a smooth water stroke in a wood frame, a 700-lb rating and nothing to subscribe to.
Class-led training
Choose the Hydrow Origin if instructor-led classes on a 22-inch screen are what will keep you rowing, and you will keep a Hydrow membership.
Consider Instead

YOSUDA Water Rower
If you want water feel in a rower that folds, the YOSUDA Water Rower ranks #1 in our best water rowing machine guide. If you want the benchmark for training data, see our Concept 2 vs WaterRower and Hydrow vs Concept2 comparisons.
Final Verdict
For most home rowers, the WaterRower Oak S4 is the better buy. Its water stroke, 700-lb rating, stated fit and lighter frame put it well ahead, with no membership to keep paying. The Hydrow Origin is the one to choose if classes on a large touchscreen are the reason you will row at all.
WaterRower Oak S4 vs Hydrow Origin FAQ
With the weights of our best rowing machine guide, the WaterRower Oak S4 scores 72.5 against 47.8 for the Hydrow Origin. The WaterRower leads on feel, capacity, fit and cost of ownership; the Hydrow leads on screen and classes.
For the touchscreen, stats and workout library, yes, per the listing. Without one you can still row, without the connected features. The WaterRower needs no membership.
Both are quiet. The WaterRower makes the sound of moving water; the Hydrow uses electromagnetic resistance, which owners describe as smooth and quiet.
The Amazon listings give 700 lb for the WaterRower Oak S4 and 375 lb for the Hydrow Origin.
Yes. Both stand on their ends. The WaterRower is lighter, at 83.6 lb against 145 lb.
The WaterRower states users up to about 6 ft 6 in on its standard rail. The Hydrow listing does not state a maximum height or rail length.
This article contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We do not show prices because they change constantly: product details and availability can change at any time, so please check the current price and details directly on Amazon. Learn more. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.






